04.23.2015 Wild Geranium

Steve Schwartzman posted a species of Wild Geranium this morning that is a bit different than what we see here.  His, Geranium carolinianum, is a very small flower while ours, Geranium maculatum (and also known as a Spotted Crane’s-bill), is a much taller plant with a larger flower.  When I mentioned maculatum, Steve looked for an image here and noted that there wasn’t one.  So here is my contribution. His have bloomed and ours won’t show up until late May or early June.

Wild-Geranium-052109-700WebWe are starting to green up and I expect to find some flowers this weekend.  Despite that confidence, for a few minutes this afternoon we had a short snow squall as a very cold air mass passed overhead.  I heard that the Berkshires to our west got a little accumulation at the higher elevations. We are having our final wood fire of the season tonight…unless something strange happens to the forecast.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, macro photography, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to 04.23.2015 Wild Geranium

  1. “Your” geranium sure is a lot showier than “mine.” I just read in a Wikipedia article that the genus Geranium has 422 species in it. That’s a lot of species.

    Like

  2. Very beautiful and a wonderful way to bring my Thursday to a close…Such a special gift.

    Like

  3. krikitarts says:

    I hope it’s your last need for a wood fire. We thought so too, but were mistaken. It always pays to be ready for one more. What a delightful blossom!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope so as well, Gary. There is plenty more out in the pile, but the garage is now empty. I guess I can haul a bit in but we’d rather let the sun provide from here on.
      Yes, aren’t they beautiful?

      Like

  4. Jim in IA says:

    As I went around today pulling garlic mustard, I noticed several plants of yellow violets. I didn’t have a camera with me. You will have to take my word for it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. We have Bloodroot up, with its leaves wrapped around like a vampire’s cape, but the rain was freezing as it fell yesterday. Here, it will usually then shoot on up to the 80’s. sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The contrasting greenish background gave the little blue flower a lovely boost. Excellent shot, Steve.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Yvonne. This is my favorite background for a flower portrait, but it isn’t always easy to get such a clean isolation. This was actually next to a water monitoring station.

      Like

  7. Andrew says:

    Terrific photo Steve. But snow? It’s almost May! The first of our Spring flowers are over but the Azaleas look magnificent and the Rhodies are budding. Soon you will have all your old favourites to occupy you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I know. It’s just not right, Andrew. I am happy to hear that your gardens and grounds are starting to pretty up. I am hoping for some flowers here, but we will approach freezing for the next few nights and I may have to break out the heat gloves in the morning. 😦

      Like

  8. shoreacres says:

    This is a lovely one. I’ve learned that the geraniums will thrive here as well as the pelargoniums that I’ve always called geraniums: perhaps better. I think that those big, showy, vibrant storksbills always will be geraniums to me, but it’s nice to know the difference.

    I was interested in the mention of water hyacinth and nutria above. We’re in the midst of a real fight right now. During the drought, the hyacinth grew and grew. Recently, we’ve had flooding rains, which uprooted many of the plants and sent them downstream: down Cypress creek, into Clear Lake, through Galveston bay, and thence offshore — for as far as five miles out. Then, the tide turns, and they all come back, and look for places to nestle. Like this. It’s true that the flowers are lovely, and I’ve never seen them blooming as profusely as they are this year. Still, they’re a problem in a multitude of ways.

    Like

Leave a Reply

