04.19.2015 Sunderland Tobacco Barn Door

Something a little different for me.  This collapsing disintegrating door caught my eye as I drove through Sunderland this morning.

Hadley-Barn-Door-041915-700WebI guess if I wanted to be cute, I could say that this door represents me as I age and sag under the weight of my years.  I was cuter when I was younger.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 04.19.2015 Sunderland Tobacco Barn Door

  1. No, I see the boards beckoning us on to an uncertain adventure. “Come on in”, they seem to be saying.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Of course, there could be Roe Rabbits in there.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I dunno. I looked at your picture. You’re still pretty cute. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jim in IA says:

    Some people pay good money for old wood. Looks like a strong wind could blow that building over. I usually stay in on windy days. I don’t want to be blown over.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I suppose there is some value in that weathered barn board…but to me it is more valuable in situ…at least for the time being. The post and beam construction will hold up through more storms I think. That said, I still don’t plan on going inside.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Steve, could you or would you be allowed to rescue some of those old boards. Lumber such as that sometimes costs more than new lumber. After all the tobacco barn has a history and you might even want to make some frames to sell. It is worth thinking about.

    I like the B&W of old things very much. This is a very nice photo, a good change of scene.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have no idea who owns the property, Yvonne. I am sure it is in the town or county records. As I mentioned above, I enjoy the barn as it is and will probably make other studies of different parts.
      Every once in a while something made by a human catches my interest. I am thinking of trying my hand at more man-made stuff, but there is so much of nature that attracts me.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Looks like what I would call a ‘puzzle barn.’ It’s really too bad when folks let those beautiful old barns go. But, I can tell you from experience, that keeping the old ones in good shape takes constant work and $$. We once had an entire wall blow out of our ‘big barn’ by a rogue wind and spent one summer rebuilding a large section of (field stone) foundation. Then there was the time that we needed to concrete the lean-to to prevent subduction … and, oh yes, new tin on the roof a few years ago. But there’s nothing quite like being inside … voluminous is the word which comes to mind … and strong. I’ve got a baler and haybine stored on the second floor … next to the hay mow … solid as the proverbial rock.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It would be fun, maybe, to try to reassemble the fallen parts.
      I am sure a barn, or other structures subjected to the various elements, requires much maintenance to stay standing and solid. I’ve been in a few over the years that housed a lot of both equipment and just plain “stuff”. They are impressive….especially when not orderly.

      Like

  7. Phil Lanoue says:

    Good eye to spot this interesting scene Steve.

    Like

  8. shoreacres says:

    From the way the boards are cupped and splintered, I’m not sure it would be good for much beyond picture frames, but you never know. I had a friend, born and raised in Mississippi, who used to travel back to the state and buy up old cypress barns. He’d bring the wood back to his place in the hill county, and get to work. He did make some beautiful furniture.

    Every time I see a barn or house in such condition, I can’t help remember singing Stuart Hamblen’s song with my folks or grandparents. Goodness — back then, Rosemary Clooney helped make it popular. It’s a wonderful song, and the lyrics are included with the video.

    Like

    • Some of the boards on the sides still seem relatively flat. I helped tear down a board once many, many years ago. Although not all that bad with the proper tools, I always wish they could stay as is. I did see one today while driving in the rain, however, that stayed up one year too long. It will be a struggle to clear the debris. Maybe one of the few times when a barn burning is a good thing.

      I have seen some nice work done with reclaimed wood. Some of the more interesting figuring was in boards made from trees that had been pulled from rivers.

      When you first mentioned “This Old House” I did not remember it at all. Although I don’t think we sang that song, I do remember it now that I listened to your link. Probably the Rosemary Clooney version on “Monitor” some weekend. Do you remember “Monitor”?

      Like

  9. I think you’re entitled to step outside the frame of “nature photographer” once in a while and do something different. There’s a lot out there in the human world, as you’ve indicated.

    Like

Leave a Reply

