04.14.2015 Tonality Tuesday

Back to work today after a gorgeous weekend.  Although it may shower a little this morning, the temperature stayed up in the 50s overnight and it will be another comfortable day.  I’m starting to believe.  🙂

I missed Monochrome Monday, so I dub this Tonality Tuesday.  Here’s another from the archives.

White-Trillium-BandW-042911-800White Trillium aka White Wakerobin (Trillium grandiflorum).

Have a nice Tuesday, everyone.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Closeup Photography, Flora, macro photography, Nature Photography, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to 04.14.2015 Tonality Tuesday

  1. Beautiful shot … appropriate in monochrome … and just the right light.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shoreacres says:

    Beautiful. Perfect. Remember those contests? I think this one deserves to be an entry. (And what a name! “White Wakerobin” is as evocative of spring as can be.)

    Like

    • I like your choice of words, Linda. Thanks!.
      Nope…I don’t remember them. Maybe a memory prompt will assist. I tried Googling a contest with those words but didn’t find what I thought you would be referring to.
      I’ve always just said trillium but am becoming more enamored with wakerobin.

      Like

  3. I am duly impressed with Ms Trillie Florum. Gorgeous shot in B&W.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s an excellent term you’ve coined: tonality Tuesday. All those subtle shades of gray in your photograph (at least fifty, no doubt) will keep anyone from getting hot and bothered and accusing you of being visually tone-deaf.

    Like

  5. Jim in IA says:

    I like the delicate fine detail in the right petal.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is a stunner, Steve.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. eduardolibby says:

    Good tonality! Was it window light?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Eduardo. No, this was outdoors in an arboretum, but shaded. I never pick wildflowers, so all the light is natural although I do sometimes use diffusers and reflectors as well as adjusting contrasts etc to my taste in Photoshop.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Phil Lanoue says:

    Looks super and great choice for B&W.

    Like

  9. krikitarts says:

    I’m with Steve–Tonality Tuesday could catch on very easily!

    Like

  10. I love Trilliums, but your image is just absolute perfection…I love your B & W treatment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

