04.06.2015 Ninety-nine and a half will have to do

We missed out on the blood red lunar eclipse here in the northeast on Saturday.  Very little was to be visible anyway, but it was overcast so even totality would have been unseen by us.

I went to a favorite location for the full moon, Mount Pollux, yesterday morning knowing that most of the moon’s fullness was still with us and made this image at dawn.

April-Moon-at-Mount-Pollux-040515-700WebI was not alone as there were several folks wrapped up in blankets who had walked from a nearby house for Easter sunrise. It was pretty chilly and breezy which I guess caused them to head home as I was leaving and before sunrise happened.  It was a subdued sunrise.

And for those who don’t mind a little rowdy music….

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 04.06.2015 Ninety-nine and a half will have to do

  1. We saw the eclipse, but no fool moon was possible to see yesterday. Too cloudy. Yours is wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim in IA says:

    There are a bunch of good eclipse photos here. http://bit.ly/1xWaogj You can get your fill.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Phil Lanoue says:

    That’s a lovely full moon scene Steve.

    Like

  4. Andrew says:

    Not a bad consolation Steve. We had a blood red lunar eclipse last year in HK, also obscured much of the time by cloud. It is very frustrating but that is the fate of the photographer 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The purple and blue bands across the sky do it for me, Steve.

    Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    The pink/purple and blue bands are called the Belt of Venus. The blue is the earth’s shadow. Here’s the explanation from Atmospheric Optics. It’s fairly common here, and I think it’s one of the prettiest skies there is. We seem to see it much more in the morning than the evening.

    I’m just as happy you captured this view, as any of the eclipse itself. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • We do get to see the Belt of Venus here often as well, Linda, although quite often the hills get in the way at some of the locations I visit. It would be even nicer if I had been able to capture Venus in this attire.

      I am glad you enjoyed this view. Often with the moon I have to “settle” for a more landscape type image as I don’t have the long glass needed to capture a full framed shot.

      Like

  7. krikitarts says:

    I salute you fortitude and perseverance. I had plans for capturing what I could on the previous evening, but other commitments intervened and I remembered when it was too high in the sky. I had not done my homework, which would have let me know that the best view would have been in the early hours of the next morning, so I missed it. I really like this lovely shot that you made.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m not sure how I missed this post but none the less all of your posts go into the spam box and I retrieve all the WP posts. I reckon I was over zealous and deleted yours.

    At any rate this photo is beautiful. I like how you put the rising sun amid the bare tree branches. It brings the eye to the sun and vice versa. Very nice capture.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

