04.05.2015 Did you see what Katy did?

The subject of a katydid with a pollen grain on its antenna came up on Steve Schwartzman’s blog today and I realized that I haven’t posted a katy here…at least according to WP’s search feature.

Katydids are sometimes difficult to ID.  I posted this on BugGuide a while back, but no species ID could be discerned from the pictures.  It is a Scudderia or Bush Katydid and a male. To the misfortune of the orthopteran, often the only way to get a good ID is to dissect the genitals.  Aside from not having that skill, I don’t really need to know that badly.  Were I an actual insectologist (yeah, most people would say entomologist, but my way is more fun…and it’s a real word) it might be important enough but not just for a photograph.

Two years ago I found this katydid eating the pollen from one of our Hibiscus flowers. I knew they ate leaves, as well as small bugs, but didn’t know pollen was a food source.

Katydid-on-Hibiscus-081813-900WebEventually he finished and headed for another spot to do a bit of personal hygiene.

Katydid-Grooming-081813-800WebI guess this is the equivalent of me finding a little something in my beard or mustache after dinner.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Animal Behavior, Closeup Photography, Insect Behavior, Insects, macro photography, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to 04.05.2015 Did you see what Katy did?

  1. Andrew says:

    A very messy Katydid. I’m not a huge fan of boiling and cutting either. They are photogenic but not on a microscope sled.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Years ago I tried collecting butterflies and moths. I only lasted one night actually. Just couldn’t keep up the killing of such beautiful insects. I suppose that I might have felt differently had I been collecting mosquitoes.

      Like

  2. As in my picture, the color of your katydid contrasts well with the color of the flower. I wish more people dressed in these colors.

    Like

  3. Jackson says:

    Great images, Steve! The pollen really makes the second shot something special.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very interesting and I like the use of insectologist. Sounds kind of buggy to me. Katy, did pose, in a lovely manner, for your camera.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lottie Nevin says:

    What amazing photographs – wow-eee!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jim in IA says:

    I’m impressed in the top picture how it has propped itself up with that long trailing leg.

    Your katydid knows ‘Bee pollen is often referred to as nature’s most complete food.’ http://beepollen.info/

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I didn’t know they eat pollen, either. There is something about Katydids that delights me. One summer we had one hanging around our mailbox that was 3″ long, and very hefty. amazing. Like you, I far prefer my insects on the wing to on the slide. Insectology…I’m going to remember that.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. shoreacres says:

    I really, really like that second photo. The pollen grains are great, but I especially like being able to see the “armor-plating” on that little guy. I was doing some reading about katydids, and was intrigued to find that they often seem to prefer walking to flying. Knock one off a branch to the ground (gently, of course) and it will walk back up the trunk.

    I found one on a boat a few weeks ago, and carried it back up to the grass and bushes. I tucked it into a hibiscus, and it seemed pretty pleased about the whole thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • One of the things, well several really, that has always fascinated me are the various structures on insects. Some seem obvious, like the armor-plating you mention, the exoskeleton, that protects them. But the development of the mouth parts, some of the structures on the bodies, like the gyroscopic halteres found on flies, just amaze me. Complex.
      I’ve noticed that a lot of beetles do the same thing. Except they drop most often on their own as a defense mechanism. Many is the time I was photographing one, only to have it just drop out of sight. I would find it on the ground where it was making for the stalk to climb back up.

      Like

  9. krikitarts says:

    Both photos are simply outstanding. I love your comment about finding things in one’s beard and/or mustache (I have both as well), and I’m hopelessly reminded of banquet scenes from medieval-period movies featuring folk with really bushy facial adornment. Here’s another random thought that has plagued me for years: Can you imagine Nitzsche eating spaghetti?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, Nietzsche would make a mess. So would this guy .
      Back when I was home visiting from college, I brought a friend with me. He had a pretty good beard going, as did I, and we were waiting for my mom to prepare dinner…spaghetti. We lay on our backs in the yard watching the clouds change shape…yes to what you are wondering about altered states. At the dinner table I mentioned to John that he had a strand of spaghetti sticking out of his beard. Then it started to move. ’twas a worm. 🙂

      Like

  10. ronaldpoels says:

    Nice macro shots.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

