04.03.2015 Flashback Friday

I haven’t been out to make new images in a few weeks now.  In that time I have finally caught up with all my old folders and can start to think about creating a Lightroom catalog and getting to know the software.  Awkward time though as it is finally warming up and I will be out there as much as possible.  No doubt the brooks are running at a fine clip.

This image is from 2010 and was in the calendar that I did a few years back.  But I have re-edited it and hope you enjoy this look at a nice green May in Holland Glen along the M-M Trail looking at a small Hop Brook waterfall…..there is a larger one upstream from here.

Hop-Brook-Waterfall-050910-700Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to 04.03.2015 Flashback Friday

  1. Jim in IA says:

    I like that shot with the big splash of spray. Cool effect.

    In the morning, I plan to be out for the eclipse. It will be clear and 28˚. I want to get an image every 15 min and paste them together. Wish me luck.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Absolutely Good Luck, Jim. We won’t be seeing it this time. But I believe there is another chance in late September.
      Are you on Facebook? A photographer I know has put together a nice collection as a composite of one from last year.
      Here is one of his shots from his website although not the one I was thinking of. If you are on FB, I can share it with you.

      Like

      • It’s the same eclipse, but a different composite.

        Like

      • Jim in IA says:

        That is a gorgeous photo composite. Mine will not be over a Joshua Tree. It will have a prison instead. Hey…you take what you can get.

        Yes I am on the facebook machine. I already found his page and will follow. Thanks.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I would happily settle for a prison rather than the overcast we may have. At least I would get to see the partial that we could have.
        Phil is an excellent photographer. If you have the time, check out his underwater and surf shots.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I just found you and Melanie on FB, but no “Add Friend” button. If you’d like to be connected you could request me. If not no problem. 🙂

        Like

      • Jim in IA says:

        I see why. I have it set as friends of friends can request. I’m changing that. Plus, I add you. After you and I connect, you will be able to see Melanie’s link.

        Too complicated for this early. I got up to see the eclipse at 5. I got one picture in between clouds. They were a surprise. It is on my fbook page.

        Like

      • I just saw that and commented. Too bad. We wouldn’t have seen the eclipse here, but the full moon would have been nice if not for the thick overcast and showers. Sunny now, of course.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The huge boulders on the left of this photo make the scene. I’m as impressed by the rocks and the moss, as I am by the cascading water.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. In what ways is your new edit of the picture different from your previous one?

    I’ve noticed that my take on one of my photographs can vary. It’s not unusual for me to look at an image and say to myself that I should have made it lighter or darker or done something else different to it. What causes my changing perceptions, I don’t know.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Different applications of contrast and selected areas of that application.

      I think our response to our senses changes as we mature. In the case of my images, I’ve found that I was a bit heavy-handed (whoops…another idiom) a few years back. As well, I have learned new techniques for solving problems. Sometimes the difference is subtle and sometimes marked.

      Like

  4. I find I do the same things with some of my paintings. Reframing an image can really add impact, can’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, framing and choice of mat, if any, does add or subtract to an image/painting’s impact. Colors or tones may be more or less assertive with some complementary mat or frame.

      Like

      • Right, but I also meant in terms of cropping. I am often amazed what a difference that can make.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, absolutely. It is very tempting when composing to include so much of what we are experiencing. But our eyes tend to move around the scene bit by bit. A picture allows concentration on the entirety which can sometimes be too much. I have cropped for better composition which has tightened up and improved a few images Less is more, as they say. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Andrew says:

    I find my eye roving all over the frame and everything ‘works’. So much to please the eye.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Girl Gone Expat says:

    Very nice photo, a pleasure to look at:)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lottie Nevin says:

    It’s delicious the way the waterfall hits the water beneath. You almost feel like you can touch it. Clever Steve!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pretty. Very pretty. D

    Liked by 1 person

  9. shoreacres says:

    I really do like the textural variety: leaves, rock, moss, and so on. You’ve done a nice job of capturing the shades of green, too. It’s amazing here, just now: an inventory of greens easily could turn up a dozen shades, and probably many more.

    Like

    • I am sure it is quite lovely there right about now, Linda. I love spring greens. Although the greens of summer are pleasing and varied, there is something about the freshness that comes in spring that just raises the pleasure level a bit higher…especially first thing on a dewy morning.
      Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

