03.29.2015 Sooner or later

Spring will arrive for real.  We’ve had some warm days and rain rather than snow, but winter is still hanging on, not willing to give it up and wait for December’s return.

But sooner or later, the temperature will rise above freezing, not to return below, and our spring ephemerals will return, buds ready to pop open to drink in the morning dew and be fruitful in the brief encounter with the warmth and brightness of the sun before the canopy closes and summer takes over.  Pollinators will take advantage of the short spring bloom and assure the next generation of plant and insect.  The flowers will pass and the foliage will take over and do the work of storing what is needed to survive the next winter’s hardships.

I sometimes think of living where there are no snowstorms or frozen lakes, but the variety  of the seasons is a pleasure that I would sorely miss, despite the complaints and constant feeding of the woodstove.  There is much to be appreciated in watching the rise and slumber each year of plants and animals.  I hope that as my mind and body become more feeble with time, I shall always enjoy these revolutions of the planet and the hardships and pleasures that the seasons bring to us.  Some day I will experience it no more, so now is the time for appreciation and pleasure at the cycle of life.

Bloodroot-Bud-with-Dew-Drops-BW-700Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Closeup Photography, Flora, macro photography, Nature Photography, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to 03.29.2015 Sooner or later

  1. shoreacres says:

    Have you ever heard of Émile Coué, who hawked a variety of self-improvement called “optimistic auto-suggestion” in the early 1900s? My mother used to repeat his catch phrase, often with a great deal of irony and in circumstances that seemed to prove the opposite. The phrase went, “Every day, in every way, we’re getting better and better.” When I read your comments about the passage of time, a slightly different version came to mind: “Every day, in every way, we’re getting older and older.” As you say, best to make use of the time we have.

    The photo is glorious, and the black and white suits it perfectly. (This, from someone who tends not to prefer B&W.) As weird as it may seem, I find the image echoes your words. The present (the drop) is perfectly balanced between the past (the stem) and the future (the bud).

    Unrelated but interesting: do you subscribe to the blog of the American Fern Society, or follow their Twitter feed? I’ve just begun doing so, and their posts are interesting and informative — on Twitter, there are links to everything from ferns from around the world to fern art. You can find them here.

    Liked by 3 people

    • I never heard of Émile Coué, but I have heard the phrase before…

      Thank you for your kind analysis. I had presented this elsewhere in color, but I agree that it is much more expressive in black and white. I processed it a little differently for this version to allow the bud to sort of glow against a darker background.

      I have not looked at anything from the American Fern Society, but that is about to change, thank you. I don’t tweet so I will look for their blog. FB and blog posting and reading are time eaters enough.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim in IA says:

    I echo the remarks about the photo by shoreacres. And, your thoughts about the cycles of the natural world resonate with me. There is deep satisfaction in watching the events unfold on their own schedule.

    Thanks for sharing your image and feelings about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • While most often I am out looking to make images, I choose Nature subjects as I prefer to be immersed there rather than in a city or studio. Experiencing the progression of life in plants and animals is a pleasure that I don’t feel enough people observe. The world is filled with populations occupied with the gathering of wealth at the expense of the planet’s health. We need to eat, but beyond that most of what we pursue is unnecessary. As a society we look for ways to fill our free time as we no longer have to seek out our sustenance, and some of that, like art, has become essential to our happiness, but food and shelter at their basic are all that we really need. Of course, much of that is not necessarily the case for folks in the “Third World”, but the reasons for that are complex but directly tied to the above.

      Aside from all that, I am glad you enjoyed this post, Jim.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. And I echo Jim’s…this is a beautiful post, both image and words.

    Murph?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. krikitarts says:

    I find that, as my time goes by, I tend to appreciate the delicacies of the seasonal changes more each year. It may be a little harder to hunker down to get as intimate with my subjects as I like to be, but the rewards are just as great, as there’s are few feelings like having a first look of one of my own new images and hearing myself say, “Wow!”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This will be the 3rd time to wrote a comment. I have no idea what in the world goes on with my computer. It would not take my comment so I’m now typing in Google chrome browser. A you know OI like B&W. I also like the accompanying narrative. Quite lovely. Keep it up.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for both the nice comment and the persistence, Yvonne. I would understand if you just threw your hands in the air and said, “forget it”. 🙂 Unfortunately I am not geeky enough to have any idea that might help.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. There is some overlap between both of our most recent posts! You know what they say … Great Minds Think Alike … perhaps it is true. Lovely image … and the desaturation works nicely to focus attention on shape and pattern. D

    Liked by 1 person

    • I will admit that I had read your post prior to mine, but this has been on my mind for a few days so yeah, great minds and all. I think often you and I are thinking along the same lines, although I could never express it as scientifically informed as you have done. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Andrew says:

    Very thoughtful Steve. There is much to be said for the wisdom that goes with ageing. And a lovely photo.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. We could indeed read a lot into the prominent drop that, with its upper portion elongating under the pull of gravity, signals that it’s ready for separation, falling, and dissolution as a distinct entity. Would knowledge of what type of bud this is add anything to the metaphor?

    Liked by 1 person

    • This bud is a bloodroot (Sanguinaria canadensis), Steve. It is one of the first ephemerals. Here is an earlier post with some examples and there are a couple more floating around.
      The name comes from the use of the roots as a dye. There are also some herbal uses, but it is not among the safest of plants for that purpose. Feel free to add to the metaphor…I can’t think of one.

      Like

      • And I would be remiss, after our previous commentary, to not mention a pseudonym…red puccoon.

        Like

      • This drop-dripping view is so different from the ones you linked to that I wouldn’t know it’s the same plant.

        As for extending the metaphor, hmm. Blood as the root of human life? Our lives dripping away in time with each pulse of blood from the heart? Sounds like I’m trying too hard to write a paper for a college English class.

        Like

      • I rarely come up with a decent metaphor that doesn’t show my obvious attempt. That’s why I rarely do that. On the one hand metaphors are a good vehicle for expressing one’s relationships. OTOH, while in reality all things are connected, in many ways nothing is connected. Generally I’d rather stick with just the facts, but I do occasionally make an approach..

        Like

      • The alternate name red puccoon surprises me, given that bloodroot is in a different botanical family, the poppy family. Well, it doesn’t really surprise me, given how many things out there are named for other things that they (often vaguely) resemble in some fashion.

        Like

      • Wiki tells us a few others…redroot and bloodwort seemingly the most appropriate. It’s possible that plants sometimes inherit names just because someone likes it.

        Like

      • And further: http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/482667/puccoon
        Apparently both genera are well-known to be called by that name.

        Like

      • As your Britannica link points out, the commonality in this case was the roots that the Indians turned into dye. Another example is the New Zealand flax I recently showed, which isn’t in the flax family at all but which got that English name from the fact that the natives used the plant’s fibers to make clothing and other things, just as flax had been used in Europe.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

