03.23.2015 Monochrome Monday-Frozen Amethyst Brook Waterfall

Another alliterative category of internet posts.

I’ve photographed ice in April a few times, so I am not deluding myself into thinking this is it for big ice this season.  But I sure hope so.  I don’t mind a few frozen puddles, but these masses of icicles need to end.  🙂

OTOH, all this ice and snow bodes well for a prolonged waterfall and cascade season with good spring melt flows into the summer…let’s hope.

Amethyst-Brook-Waterfall-with-Icicles-032215-700Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Ice, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 03.23.2015 Monochrome Monday-Frozen Amethyst Brook Waterfall

  1. We have ice on our front window this morning. It’s 30 degrees now, and Jim and I both heard thunder in the night. Still, it’s not as dramatic as your picture.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. shoreacres says:

    Is it my imagination, or is there some melting going on here? Some of that ice looks like the melting icicles I remember. They always seemed to get clear and fragile-looking. Some of the snow looks a little granular, too. It’s a lovely image, even if you are heartily sick of it all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • We had just had a week of warm weather before this cold snap arrived. We also just had an inch of snow the day before this image. Much of that inch had melted on Saturday.
      I am getting sick of it. That said, I am glad that at least it gave up an image for me. I went out not expecting much.
      Thanks!

      Like

  3. Beautiful, Steve, and I believe all those orchids like this stuff. Go figure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve never read anything about whether deep winter snows are good for the following plants or not. I supposed a good soaking helps the soils, but it can also encourage disease. Maybe this will all provide some awesome blooms this year. As a side note…this location is where i also find most of my painted trillia. Thanks, Melissa.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I suppose every place is different but over the course of many years of restoration work here we’ve learned about the connection of plants to climate. Here, the orchids respond well when there is an insulating blanket of snow through the winter and then lots of moisture in the spring.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s a beautiful icy scene. I think I like this monochrome just as much if, not more than the icy waterfall in bluish tones. Hopefully you won’t be photographing ice in April this year.

    Here, the sun is shinning and the temp I’m guessing is about 54 degrees or so. Everything is very green or in a semi-budding stage. The Live Oaks are dropping leaves and the yard is covered in shiny dewy leaves. It takes about 3 weeks or more for all the leaves to drop and then new budding immediately begins to form along with the blooms that appear for the acorns. Greenish yellow pollen covers the ground at that point.

    Liked by 2 people

    • If I were to print the other, I think it might end up as a monochrome also, Yvonne.

      Your yard sounds wonderful. I envy, aside from the warm weather, the proliferation of plants and insects you enjoy there. You are most fortunate.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks, Steve. If you lived in this area, I think you would love it here. A number of birds visit and nest on my one acre and you are correct. I feel very fortunate to own this property. It is hard to maintain and it looks unkempt in general but the wildlife likes it that way so it works out in a good way. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. We had a major thaw last week and then another 4″ of the white stuff over the weekend. The temperature now reads 46F and the snow is, once again, in full retreat. The pond is just about full with run-off and I’m hoping the grass begins to grow pretty soon here – we’re almost out of hay and lambs can’t be far away now. Blue sky today but rain in the forecast. Was out with the camera a bit yesterday … it’s been a while. D [Thanks for the update on Murph … he looks pretty darn good.]

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s the winter that just won’t quit, David. I hope you do have some lamb food growing shortly. Blue skies today and tomorrow but clouding up Wed. and rain on Thursday. We see warmer temps through the end of the week but then back in the freezer for a few days.

      Like

  6. Andrew says:

    You should do a ‘4 seasons’ project on this location Steve. That is one spectacular fall.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. krikitarts says:

    That’s really a delightful little cascade and it looks enchanted in ice. I hope this marks the last of your cold weather and that your spring will soon jump in to take over.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ice? What’s that? In Austin most things are greening out and it’s easy once again to find various kinds of wildflowers. We even got into the low 80s the other day, which isn’t unusual for central Texas in late March.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. quabbinite says:

    Steve, sorry it’s been so long. I’ve missed the opportunity to see your photos of my beloved New England nature! As always, looking forward to seeing what you have in store for us in the future…..especially considering what this harsh Winter will bring in the way of your pictures of Spring, Summer, and [especially] Fall!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

