03.14.2015 Oak leaves with a bubble chaser

I’ve kind of been out of the loop for a few days.  Day job demands and other stuff kept me busy and tired.  I’ve spent the last few days worth of free time catching up on key-wording and archiving…it’s an ongoing task, especially when you have fallen several months behind.  At least I am now in the 2015 files and this is one from January 3.

Oak-leaves-and-bubbles-010315-700WebEither this is a shot of the oak leaves’ New Year’s Eve celebration or there were a lot of tiny bubbles trapped in the ice along with the leaves.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Closeup Photography, Ice, macro photography, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 03.14.2015 Oak leaves with a bubble chaser

  1. Jackson says:

    Awesome, Steve!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks just like abstract art. Nice find.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jim in IA says:

    I like that one. Very artsy. 🙂

    Like

  4. Lovely image!!! I love the unique texture the bubbles provide.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Following in the tradition of Seurat and Signac, we can call this a pointillist photograph.

    Like

  6. krikitarts says:

    It takes a really good eye to pick a jewel of an abstract like this out of the plethora of impressions a winter walk provides. Yours is/are a fine match to the task.

    Like

  7. shoreacres says:

    Always with the food, I am. My first thought was of a rolled and cut spice cookie the Dutch make, covered with sanding sugar. It is a great photo. I really enjoy winter photos that have a degree of warmth to them, and this one certainly does.

    I take it the bubbles are rising up from below? Is it a sign of a thaw and freeze cycle? Decaying plants? Whatever, it’s really unique.

    Like

    • I am not familiar with that cookie, but as long as my images are reminding you of pleasurables, then why not. Now if one reminds you of a root canal you once had….

      This little pool is fed by a small trickle coming down a hill, so I imagine the water has been well-aerated and is almost effervescent at the point it froze. But there are small plants in there also, so the giving off of oxygen is a strong possibility as well.

      Like

  8. Lyle Krahn says:

    A different kind of beauty. And I like it.

    Congrats on sort of keeping up with key wording. I just can’t seem to force myself to do the more mundane tasks like that.

    Like

  9. Mark says:

    Well, keywording is certainly the key to finding a past image quick when you need it. I am amazed you are able to do that and still prolifically keep the blog up. Kudos to you Steve.

    This shot has me wondering if they are frozen leaves or you are doing some experiments with seltzer water. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Andrew says:

    They look how I feel: vaguely fossilised.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

