03.01.2015 Cousin Itt takes the Polar Bear Plunge

I found a couple of these tussocks with their tips dipped in frost and wearing a nice snowy cap this morning.  A pleasantish 4°F made for a bit more comfortable conditions.  I am not sure what the plants are scattered all over with frosty beréts…maybe some spent bladderworts.

Tussock-in-Adams-Brook-030115-700Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Ice, Intimate Landscape, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to 03.01.2015 Cousin Itt takes the Polar Bear Plunge

  1. Is that LIQUID water at four degrees? If so … how so?

    Like

  2. krikitarts says:

    Love your title, Steve. And thanks for the link to the Slurpee waves–incredible!

    Like

  3. Jim in IA says:

    That’s a funny picture. It does look like some sort of ‘it’ for lack of a better word.

    Those Nantucket waves were incredibly smooth. Just the right motions and consistency. I followed the link under his picture in the article for more pictures. Amazing. http://client.jdnphotography.com/slurpeewaves/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Incredibly cold looking on the Nantucket beach. The article said that the waves that were frozen had never been seen before. Makes one wonder what in the word is happening to our world.

    At any rate, I like your photo. It’s very unusual looking and I like the soft hues of brown, rust, and sepia like colors.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That does look so cold, interesting, but so cold.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I don’t believe I’ve ever seen a picture like this one. Good for you for finding a new way to portray winter.

    Like

  7. Oh, hey, tussock sedge! You are in my kind of habitat 🙂 Love the photo.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. And, will you see skunk cabbage coming up in this spot soon? It looks about right for that.

    Like

  9. Andrew says:

    4F is pleasant-ish?? We are working to a different definition of pleasant Steve.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I suppose we are, Andrew. After a day starting with -10°, 4 felt warmer. -16 a few days earlier. But the forecast is getting better and we have more moderate and melt-worthy temperatures on the horizon. Only 8 weeks left until the hunt for Painted Trilliums gets under way.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. shoreacres says:

    Now I’m wondering: tussock, hammock, cassock, hassock… I see a pattern here.

    It’s a bit of a strange photo. The snow “cap” looks like there might have been some melting going on, to allow it to begin a slow slide. I like the rakish tilt, though. And I really like the slushy waves. I suspect the world still has plenty of things no one has seen — until someone does. Somewhere, I have a link to an old photo of fish frozen into perfectly clear ice, in Texas. I’ve needed a good reason to clean up my piles of bookmarks. Maybe if I get after it, I’ll find the photo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

