02.28.2015 Sparkles at -7°

Another chilly start to the day this morning, but it had actually warmed up 3° on the way to this spot at the Quabbin.  My buddy, Mr. Moose (who remembers him?) here decided to stay put while I got out the snow shoes.  He looks warm, huh?  I think  the dashboard needs a dusting.11043161_787780844643145_2160047456032381810_n

There is a site with the remnants of an old “mansion” as you hike in on Webster Road across from the Hanks Meadow area.    After photographing that (more on that tomorrow), I decided to shoot some shadows on the snow and found this fallen twig casting its own along that of a taller tree.  I found it interesting and enjoy that the cold had provided some nice sparkly crystals to reflect the angular sunlight.Twig-in-Sparkly-Snow-022815-700WebTomorrow is March 1st and one would expect the month to signal a warming trend.  So far that is not in the forecast.  Somewhere under all our snow, skunk cabbages are starting to push their way up from the ground.  I know where to look, but they will have to make enough of their own heat (which they do) to melt through at least two feet of snow.  Maybe by April 1st.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Intimate Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 02.28.2015 Sparkles at -7°

  1. Jim in IA says:

    What color is the moose? Is it blue or is it gold?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim in IA says:

    ‘…thermogenic plants release pungent odors to attract flies.’ This reminded me of the giant carrion flower plant (Amorphophallus titanum) which emits a smell of rotting flesh. It attracts insects which promote the movement of pollen in the plant. Nature finds all kinds of ways to get things done.

    As you say, if people showed interest in the right things, we could get much more done. Right you are.

    Like

  3. krikitarts says:

    Yet another indication of what we’ve done to the earth and her weather patterns. I ran across a photo that I’d made of our first crocus two years ago, and it had already blossomed, faded, and fallen by March 13. There’s no way the first one this year is even dreaming of appearing by that date. I’m thinking of featuring it in a new post–maybe tomorrow…

    Like

    • I remember winters like this from when I was a kid in the mid-50’s (the years, not me) but I was living in Syracuse and we had the lake effect snows there…they still do.
      I’m thinking of buying a few bulbs and “forcing” them indoors.

      Like

  4. Hehe, they are very good!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Of all things, Steve. For a second or more I thought that I was going to see a pic of a real moose. Of course the moose on the dash is “real” cute. That is a clever pic of the twig and how shadows affect a photograph. And the skunk cabbage is an interesting plant for sure. Hopefully you can get some shots of it when it emerges from the snow.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Yvonne. We do have moose at the Quabbin and other wooded areas here in Western Mass., but I have only seen them by the side of the two-lane highway I travel to the northern part of the watershed. I have yet to see one while hiking there.
      Thanks for liking the shadowplay. The moose seems to have “overshadowed” that image here.

      Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    We had a corpse flower named Lois here in Houston. She had her own 24/7 livestream through the whole process of bloom and decline. I kept her tab open for weeks, and must say I found it more fascinating than that dress business. The only thing that made me smile was the person who put the dress’s stripes onto the pair of llamas.

    What really tickles me here is the repetition. The moose antlers and the twig seem to echo one another — nice touch.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve already ranted in a couple of places about the attention the dress was getting, so I’ll leave it alone. The mention of the corpse flower reminded me of Audrey, although she ate them rather than smelling like one.

      I’d like to take credit for the similarity, but it is just happenstance.

      Like

  7. Andrew says:

    The dress thing is lost on me. I saw something about it in the paper and turned the page. The moose is blue.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

