02.25.2015 Color to the North-the Sun is to the East-8/8/2010

Where else would the sun be at dawn?  Just having fun as Linda mentioned she prefers clouds over the sun.  This is a popular sunrise location in New Salem, just off Route 202.  The large distant mountain is Monadnock in New Hampshire and this looks like unbroken wilderness, but there really are a lot of homes and a few towns hidden by all those trees.  Only one is visible from this spot, but I cropped it out to the left.

Northern-Dawn-Color-080810-2-700WebThe weekend is looking good.  Still cold, but snow not in the forecast until Sunday night.  Nice and warm today so:

One of these days, maybe this weekend, I’ll make some new images.  Until then, I’m living in the past. 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 02.25.2015 Color to the North-the Sun is to the East-8/8/2010

  1. It is such a gorgeous image…I love the subtle shades of pink that fills the sky.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the song. Five years ago in early March, when our daughters’ step-dad was dying, I sent a link to this song to our girls. Just after he passed, our younger daughter found out she was pregnant. A few weeks later, our older daughter found out she was pregnant. Both babies are boys. Here comes the son… 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Jim in IA says:

    Nice scene. I would enjoy seeing sunrises there.

    Keep post from the past as long as you need. I know you will make a temporal leap first chance you get.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. shoreacres says:

    What a beautiful sky. I may have mentioned that pink isn’t a common sunrise/sunset color here. We tend toward orange, lemon, red and lavenders. I just read an article about the colors of sunrise and sunset. With all it said about the scattering of light, and such, I almost wonder if pink isn’t more common in northern latitudes.

    But none of that affects my appreciation of the photo. Apart from the color, I’m taken with the way the hills seem to fold into each other. And “Here Comes the Sun” is a favorite. I looked for a video I’ve always liked that combines the music with the spring thaw in Alaska and the glaciers, but it seems to have been taken down. I looked through 18 pages on youtube before I gave up. 😉

    Like

    • Quite often a pink/crimson sunrise will subside and become more yellow/orange just prior to the sun breaking the horizon here. This was a little extreme. The overlapping hills are what bring me back here repeatedly. It is very nice in autumn.

      My favorite “Here comes the sun” is the background for a beagle rescue video. It has been around for a while. I will try to find it and share it either here or another post.

      Like

  5. I like today’s pic and I’m glad that you are living in the past. Nothing wrong with that and we get to see some great images.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m right back there with ya, Steve 🙂
    This photo is so lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. krikitarts says:

    Actually, true “now,” by definition, is so fleeting that any images that we are able to share were all made in the past. It’s all a ceaseless flow of time, for certain, but I too value the ability–and the rewards–of reaching back beyond the relatively recent.

    Like

  8. Nice photo … nice tribute … great combination. Thanks. D

    Liked by 1 person

  9. That’s an excellent combination of subtle colors and shapes.

    We all always live at least partly in the past.

    Like

Leave a Reply

