02.10.2015 Green Ice and Hoar Frost

This is an image I posted in 2012, but I checked and most everyone who visits here, aside from Steve S. and James Hunt, wasn’t a visitor back then. At that time I called it “Star in an Algal Galaxy”.  Now I just call it what it is.

Linda shared a link to an article discussing ice and algae in a comment for yesterday’s post, so I thought I’d share this as I am pretty sure I haven’t doubled it up since the original post.  If I did don’t be shy about pointing it out.

Algae-Star-010412-800FB-2It was 4° on January 4th, 2012, but we hadn’t had much snow so the ice was not covered as it is now.  I have pretty much given up on finding any new ice abstracts this year. For anyone keeping track, we are to have more snow Wednesday evening into Thursday but only a few inches.  However, Saturday night into Sunday could be another big one.  Although we do have a lot of snow here,  Boston has had about 6 feet in the past several weeks and is struggling to find a place to put it.  I guess the harbor is getting a lot of visits and the brine level must be a bit weaker than usual.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Closeup Photography, Ice, macro photography, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to 02.10.2015 Green Ice and Hoar Frost

  1. Just Rod says:

    Very dramatic. I hope you don’t get too much of the white stuff. We are loving being able to walk every day. But it is good to see the beauty of the hoar frost.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Different twist on winter scapes. Nice to see a variation.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Jim in IA says:

    I like that ice. Are you folks out there not living right. The snow and winter gods seem to have a vendetta for you. It just doesn’t want to stop. Our weather is changing tonight. By morning light, the wind will begin blowing steadily above 20 from the NW, gusting to mid 30s. The wind won’t drop below 20 until Thursday morning. Temps will drop to 4 by then, too. I guess winter is still here, too. At least we don’t have a snowstorm with this blast.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am not sure what we did, but those weather gods are having at us with all…Well, most of what..they have it seems. The updated forecast now predicts less snow but temperatures below zero at night and lower teens during the day…..and there’s wind a comin’ too.

      Like

  4. tomwhelan says:

    Pretty ice star – the green background is a neat and unusual feature. I’ve been getting out since the snows, but despite the low temps, I haven’t been seeing interesting ice.

    Like

    • Thanks, Tom. It’s hard to find flat ice but if there is open running water a little shaped or hanging is visible.

      I haven’t been on NSN lately, but Royce has been posting some fantastic ice abstracts on Facebook.

      Like

  5. Lottie Nevin says:

    This makes me think of the cosmos with a green galaxy floating behind. Lovely image, Steve and very different.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mark says:

    I really like this Steve. The ice vs the green really create a bit of a puzzling visual combination – which makes it really interesting.

    I have been reading about Boston. Spring can’t come soon enough for those folks.

    Like

  7. Andrew says:

    Good framing Steve. They look like brussel sprouts below the ice.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. The harbor is getting some snow with its tea?
    I really enjoy seeing the algae through the ice in this shot. Very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This winter has been so unusual…Amazing snow in spots, drought, and some places are enjoying an unusually early spring.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. One good turn deserves another, Steve.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I really like this one Steve. I like that you caught the ice before it had been covered for the season. The algal filaments and bubbles (from either photosynthesis or decay) add a nice touch too. The frost provides a nice relief in stark contrast. Nice all around.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The stark contrast of the frost was what go my attention at first, David. As with most things, the closer I got and the more I studied what was in front of me, the more I could see the complexity of the scene both grow and simplify.. It is one of my favorites.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. shoreacres says:

    Somewhere, there’s a science-fiction writer who’d love to use this as a book cover. It looks for all the world like some kind of quirky satellite with all of its solar panels and such extended, gliding along over a mysterious planet.

    The colors are what I love. Well, and the contrast in shapes. The hoarfrost is so purely white and angular, and the greens are so varied. The little round balls of algae look like bits of peridot — just beautiful.

    I must say — this is one of the most striking winter photos I’ve seen. I’m glad you brought it out again for show and tell.

    Like

    • Thanks, Linda. It was one of those nice surprises one can’t really anticipate as you leave home with your camera….at least not on first acquaintance. I’ve been back there a few times, but the phenomenon has not been repeated. If it were not for all the snow, it might be there again this year with all the cold we’ve experienced.

      Like

  13. Lyle Krahn says:

    I like photos that make me stop and wonder what’s going on. So many patterns and shapes. Great stuff.

    The turnover in readers is quite remarkable.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was pretty surprised to see how many of the folks back then don’t stop by as much too, Lyle. A couple do drop by occasionally. I know several of them outside of blogging and many are just too busy to keep up with their own blogs much less mine.

      This one does get you to think a bit. I am not sure if that is good or bad…not everyone likes that.

      Like

  14. krikitarts says:

    I know I wasn’t aware of you back then and I’m grateful that you’ve chosen to re-offer this. Doing so with old friends–for new friends–is a laudable undertaking, and I’m thinking of re-viewing a few as well. Thanks for sharing a great idea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

