02.09.2015 Summer!!!!!

For my fellow northerners, and everyone else as well, here is a flashback to Acadia N.P., Great Meadow, summer of 2006.  🙂

Wild-Lupine-in-Great-Meadow-2-700WebIt’s still snowing…enough already.  I am waiting it out before clean up.  Should be another few hours.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Flora, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Maine, Nature Photography, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to 02.09.2015 Summer!!!!!

  1. Lottie Nevin says:

    Oh my goodness! what a wonderful picture, all those flowers! are they lupins? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim in IA says:

    I expected some pictures of white…lots of it. This is good. I like the greens and flowers.

    I usually wait until the storm settles before going out to clear things. Some neighbors can’t wait. They end up doing it twice. Must be a guy-thing for some.

    Like

  3. Andrew says:

    Sorry Steve. I can’t ‘like’ this. I am allergic to lupins 😦

    Like

  4. Gail P. says:

    Can’t wait to get out to photograph the lupines! They’re one of my favorites. When was your beautiful photo taken?

    Like

  5. The flower in the pic is akin to our state flower, the bluebonnet. Really lovely photo and it seems that you are yearning for an early spring.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oooo … now that’s a sight for sore eyes! Beautiful.

    Like

  7. shoreacres says:

    It surely did feel like summer here today, even though we don’t yet have much in the way of wildflowers. I noticed that some trees are developing lovely, fat buds, and there are a few blooming already. I’m not yet sure what they are, but they’re a wonderful sign of spring.

    Is that Acadia, as in Evangeline? I’m at the other end of that particular story. I need to get back to it. I have a beautiful flame birch table that was made by a woodworker up there – he called it his Evangeline table. I have some notebooks in the drawer, with the beginnings of some Evangeline tales scratched in them. It was Longfellow and Evangeline that started me blogging. I need to get back to work on those stories.

    Anyway — you can see the table and its story here. I do love that table as much as anything I have.

    Like

    • Sort of but not exactly, Linda. Acadia N.P. is in Maine and most likely was named after a Greek name…Arcadia…which an explorer thought the lands resembled. It had two names Sieur de Monts and Lafayette before taking on the Acadia name permanently. I don’t think Longfellow’s poem was considered when giving it a name. Evangeline is such a tragic tale. I have often said that, even if we have led a life of misery, finding happiness in the end makes life worthwhile. I am not sure their reuniting was happiness so a very sad story, indeed.
      Locally, we have a Mass. Audubon Sanctuary with the name Arcadia.

      I love highly figured wood and that flame birch is wonderful. You are fortunate to have such a lovely creation from that wood.

      Like

  8. shoreacres says:

    For someone who loves snow and algae, this article ought to be of interest.

    Like

    • Thanks for the link to that article, Linda. I also followed one of the referred links at the bottom to read about reflected light and bubbles.
      I have a green ice image that is a little old from a few years back which involves algae.
      I’ll post it next as I think only Steve Schwartzman has seen it before of the people who visit the blog these days. I don’t think I have posted it since 2012.

      Like

  9. Wow, just look at that stand of lupines! Are there Karner Blues to go along with them? We have a few patches of lupines at Illinois Beach, but our Karners are gone.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There very well may have been, Melissa. But this was at about 5:30 am and most were probably still abed. I stayed at the edges so there were probably several insects to be found but I didn’t look. When I got there I was disappointed thatsome folks had managed to crush quite a few lupines in their attempt to photograph them. Quite often when I come upon that situation I just leave, but in this case I just composed that bit out of the image.

      Like

Leave a Reply

