02.08.2014 Snow in the Hole

This is a favorite tree within Quabbin Park.

Quabbin-Park-Birch-Tree-020715-700WebJust about an inch of snow so far.  The real stuff happens later tonight and tomorrow.  I hope to get out in it, but we’ll see if we get strong winds too like last time.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Black and White, Intimate Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Quabbin and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 02.08.2014 Snow in the Hole

  1. Jim in IA says:

    Do you know if a creature lives in that hole when the weather is better?

    I hope you enjoy the snowstorm. I’ve always liked them, except when they cause me to get stuck or something like that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • One would expect so, but I have been by this tree countless times and have yet to see an occupant. Maybe one of these days I’ll get a look inside and see if there is any indication.

      I finally am driving an all-wheel drive for the first time. Mary Beth has had a Forester for the last two cars, but I always drove a minivan. Even with all-wheel drive I almost got stuck the other day when I went over a snow bank. Rocked my way out. Why do I not carry a shovel?

      I’ll enjoy it a lot more if it runs to the lesser side of predictions. We’ve enough on the ground now to guarantee a nice spring runoff, sufficient ground water and full reservoirs. The best part about getting out either during or just after a storm is clean snow.

      Like

      • Jim in IA says:

        I just noticed your forecast is up to 18″. Is that right?

        We had a tree out back with a hole in it about 8″ across. One day I peeked in and got growled at by momma raccoon. She had some babies. I didn’t go back and bother her. 😯

        Like

      • Good thing you didn’t stick your finger in there.

        The predictions vary. I’ve seen 18″-24″, 12″-18″, 4″-8″ and so on. From one site, we won’t get much tonight, but tomorrow should be the heaviest. It sounds as if the most accumulation will be in the foothills of the Berkshires along the west border of Massachusetts. I guess we’ll know when it happens. 🙂

        Like

  2. Pretty cool. I always get a kick out of finding holes in trees and whatever might be in them. Sometimes I see plants growing in them.
    Tsk~ I do the same thing, never carry a shovel. My dad always has shovels, blankets, etc. I guess our heads are full of creative thoughts, too lofty for mundane things like shovels! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I always enjoy tree holes too, Melissa. My favorite, and probably the reason for my liking them, contained gifts for Scout and got cemented shut. Do you know which I am describing? 🙂

      Yeah, we artists are to preoccupied for common sense things like shovels and being sure the tank is full of gas. 😉 I’ll be sure to take one with me should I venture out tomorrow.

      Like

  3. Andrew says:

    You think a Mockingbird lives in there, Steve? This is like a charcoal drawing. Impressive.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Just Rod says:

    When I first saw the image I thought it was a pencil drawing. Very impressive. Fine details – yet minimalist. I wonder how far down that whole goes. It looks like it is filled with snow.

    Like

  5. Lyle Krahn says:

    With a title like that I was wondering if you were going to break out in some Dr. Seuss poetry! You were really successful in aiming for the charcoal/pencil drawing effect. I love it when a plan comes together.

    Like

  6. krikitarts says:

    Gorgeous graphic effect, Steve, perfect for the season and the surroundings. Enjoy the snow! A foot fell shortly before my return but it’s been 50F for the past two days and it’s melting fast.

    Like

  7. shoreacres says:

    That really is gorgeous. I thought you’d been doing some sketching, too. As for the hole, if it’s natural, there’s no telling who might move in. My first thought was that it would be a lovely place for an owl, depending on how far up off the ground it is. I suppose springtime will tell the tale — or not.

    Like

    • I only wish I had the ability to do pencil/ink drawings.

      An owl would certainly be a possibility, but it would need to be a little screecher or sawwhet as the hole is a bit small and maybe 10 feet off the ground. Whoooo knows, maybe I’ll see one in the hole later this year.

      Like

  8. Lottie Nevin says:

    It really does look like a pen and ink drawing! We had snow last week but nothing to compare with what you have to deal with over your side. Keep warm, Steve!

    Like

    • Thanks, Lottie. We are not getting hit quite as hard as the hilltowns around here, but will still end up with another half foot or so. On top of what is already on the ground, it is measuring up to approach record-breaking.
      We are keeping the wood stove cranking all day now. I can’t run the heat in my study so we are trying to get the main part of the house warm enough so some residual flows out here.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

