01.25.2015 Dean Brook-cicles

Yesterday we had what will probably be a minor prelude to a major snowstorm.  It sounds as if we may see upwards of 24″ between Monday night and Tuesday morning with strong winds. I’ll fire up the generator tomorrow to be sure we’re covered.

This morning I visited Dean Brook to see how the fresh snow and ice looked.  Shooting snow in the woods is often less than rewarding as the debris that falls out of the trees makes an awful mess, but today was nice and fresh.  Pure as the driven snow, as they say.  Much of the brook was flowing under thick ice shelves and for a few compositions it would have been nice to venture out onto them.  But a fall through the ice as a child and possibly the wisdom that come with advancing years convinced me to stay close to the edge where I knew some large rocks were solidifying the shelves and making conditions just a bit safer.  Guess that I am getting a little wussy in my old age.

So here is one shot of a small bit of the flow in front of some nice icicles and some of the “pure driven snow”.

Dean-Brook-Icicles-1-012515-700WebIt was just around 32°F this morning, but tomorrow will be @4°.  I have to have a bit of blood drawn at 7, but will go looking for some more of this stuff after that.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Ice, Intimate Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Water, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 01.25.2015 Dean Brook-cicles

  1. shoreacres says:

    I’ll vote for smart over wussy every time. Having taken a plunge into 45F waters many Januarys ago, I don’t recommend it, and I don’t care what they call me for avoiding it in the future.

    I really like the “frosting” of snow atop the ice. The difference in textures is pretty. It’s hard to know what you’ll have to photograph once this is all over, of course. I fear our opportunity for snow is gone for the year, so I’ll just have to enjoy yours. I’m glad to see you mention a generator, but I do hope you don’t lose power.

    Here’s a link to a really good NE weather blog that many of my friends follow. PCroton’s not given to hysteria, and he knows weather. He’s located up your way, and there’s usually a lot of live-blogging during these events, which can be fun and informative to follow. Here’s to not-as-much-as-predicted.

    Like

    • Thanks for the link, Linda. Weather Underground is one of a couple sources I look at. This time they are all in agreement.
      We have been lucky so far and have not needed the generator since we bought it two years ago. That is fine with me. It was expensive but, just like the other kind of insurance, I hope to never need it. 🙂

      Like

  2. Jim in IA says:

    Nice photo. I agree it is better to be safe and dry than sorry and wet.

    My sources say you are going to get a significant snow storm. My brother is on the mid-coast of Maine. He said the total was just upped to 24″ with 60 mph winds. He is hoping to not lose power. He will bring in more firewood tomorrow.

    I am not jealous of your next few days. Stay safe and warm.

    Like

    • I have seen the prediction maps for Maine and I think they will get hit a little harder than we shall. But it is looking grim. I don’t mind the accumulation but the drifting is no fun and power outages are terrible. We have plenty of candles and flashlights. I usually clear the snow a few times when we get this much.

      Like

  3. Andrew says:

    Wussy = showing some commonsense. That way we get to see the next instalment.

    Like

  4. Those are some nicicles you’ve got there. Best wishes for many more, as well as for not having to use your generator.

    On the model of “pure as the driven snow,” the actress and self-described hedonist Tallulah Bankhead said on more than one occasion: “I’m as pure as the driven slush.”

    http://quoteinvestigator.com/2013/09/20/driven-slush/

    Now if you could manage to get an appealing picture of slush, that would be a photographic feat.

    Like

    • Well, depending on your definition of slush.

      I think you mean that soft mushy stuff that is between snow and ice. The above was actually water freezing as it flowed, but it’s a close call.

      Like

      • Yeah, that stuff in the link is slush, but I think of slush more as a clear crunchy slurry that also can be found with various food colorings and the word “Puppy” added after.

        Like

      • The slush that I grew up with in New York was what resulted after a snowfall, as the pollution in the air and the splatter from passing cars gradually turned the slowly melting white into grungy shades of gray. I’m guessing that’s the kind of slush Tallulah Bankhead had in mind when she made her sarcastic comment. And I think there’s also the implicit suggestion that you could replace the final sh sound in slush with a different one….

        Like

  5. Nice shot. I like the warmth of the browns that these stream shots of your seem to have in common. I’m glad you were able to get out before being inundated. Both my sister and my Mom are worrying about what the next 24 hours will bring – they are just outside of Boston. As it is, we don’t expect much – but school is on a 2-hour delay. Perhaps a pair of chest waders should be on either your birthday or holiday gift lists – even if simply for insurance as your edge out onto those ice shelves. I can relate to starting one’s day at the phlebotomist. What a drag. I’m not sure why I get worked up about such visits – but I do – and it feels so good to get out of there. So, you see, you have my sympathy. D

    Like

    • I have been thinking about a pair, David. I have hip boots now, but chest waders would be even better. My concern with going through the ice over a strongly rushing stream has more to do with getting sucked under although freezing into a block of ice as I walk back to my car would be no fun either.

      I actually don’t mind the taking of blood. Needles have never bothered me and I have a nice big bulge in my vein that takes all the digging around out of the equation. Every phlebotomist’s eyes light up when seeing that welcoming target.

      The coast is due to get hit harder than we will inland. So if we get 12-24 they will see 18-36 possibly. I just stocked up on batteries for our flashlights and lantern. We have candles in jars for steady dim light. And as you probably know, wood stoves don’t require electricity (which is why we ditched our pellet stove) except for those with fans. So we have heat as well as the top of the stove for cooking if necessary. The big improvement is the generator which we did not have back in October of 2011 when we lost about $1000 worth of food in the freezer and fridge. Hopefully we won’t need it. I hope your sister and mom don’t have to deal with any power loss or other related hardship.

      I was worrying about the snow pack and the potential for a meager spring melt. Worries gone now.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Better wussy than wet! I really like this shot, with snow, ice and water all together. You have a talent for finding a lovely composition where my mind is screaming, “COLD! COLD!”
    Stay warm the next few days. I’m glad you’re so well prepared.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yesterday wasn’t so bad for cold, Melissa. Right around 32° It was in the teens this morning and the real event is just now starting. So far I have heard…Snowzilla…Snowpalooza..and Snowmageddon.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I haven’t heard any fun names… they just keep calling it a historic blizzard. Really? Don’t we all regularly deal with 2′ of snow? I wouldn’t call it historic…Snowmageddon is way more fun 🙂

        Like

      • Amounts like this happen occasionally, Melissa. I just posted this on FB….”I was just remembering the day we moved Mary Beth here from Philly in 1983.. We were going to spend the night there and drive back the next morning. My dad called to tell us that there was a storm in Pittsburgh headed toward New England so we packed everything up quick like and drove until 2 am, beat the snow there, parked the truck and went in to sleep. The next morning we had to unload after clearing 18″ first.” We’ve had a yearly total around 100″ a few times, but that was made up of lots of smaller amounts over the months.
        Quite often our storms swirl and come from the northeast and are called Nor’easters. A new name dropped in…Northbeaster.
        As a kid I lived in Syracuse and we had storms like this coming off Lake Erie on a regular basis. After we moved to New England they still happened during the fifties, as far as I remember. Not as often now.

        Liked by 1 person

      • My ex likes to tell of the comedian who commented, “It’s August, people. It’s hot. Write it down!” I think of that every time I hear the newscaster’s hyperbole these days surrounding weather. Sounds like you’ve got it covered as far as preparedness goes~I’m glad. And I’m looking forward to the pictures! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

