01.20.2015 Puffer’s Pond Dam Waterfall in Ice

Just before our freezing rain started on Sunday, I drove from Pelham to North Amherst and Puffer’s Pond.  The pond was created by the construction of a dam of the Mill River during a more industrial period of Amherst’s history when it was known as Factory Hollow Pond.  As Amherst now has little industry apart from education, the pond is recreational and a popular swimming spot in the summer.

There was not any sign of swimmers on Sunday.  And for good reason.

Puffers-Pond-Waterfall-1-011815-700Web I had hoped to find the entire waterfall a mass of shapely ice, but it didn’t turn out that way as you can see.  That’s a nice pile of ice slabs that collapsed, but I wasn’t keen on approaching and didn’t really care for the dam wall behind the falling water.

But one section appealed to me, so I got out the 300 and chose that section for an image.

Puffers-Pond-Waterfall-2-011815-700WebI chose to enhance the chill quality in my white balance adjustment in Camera Raw.  In the upper image I did no adjusting as it is not an image I will have much use for, but I wanted to include it as an overall idea of the falls appearance and where my abstraction came from.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Ice, Intimate Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to 01.20.2015 Puffer’s Pond Dam Waterfall in Ice

  1. Wow, you have been cold. We’ve got lots of bare ground and the sheep are actually nibbling the remains of fall grass out on pasture. We did have lots of the solid stuff but it has long since melted. Your lingering ice has provided you with some very nice photographic fodder.

    Like

    • Even after the day of warmth and melting there is still a lot of frozen snow which is pretty slippery. Although we have had little snow, what did fall has remained for weeks as the temperatures rarely made it above freezing until Sunday. Back in the chill last night but each day will approach 32°.

      Like

  2. Andrew says:

    Nice combination Steve. Very good context shot and excellent detail.

    Like

    • Thanks, Andrew. A few years back I was able to get a P&S shot of the dam without the collapsed ice. I’ll see if I can figure out how to get an image in this post through the editor.
      I don’t see it in edit mode.

      Like

  3. Just Rod says:

    Steve: I like both images. The first reminds me of a yarn weaving with very heavy yarn and knots. The gap where the ice broke away really adds to the sense of intended asymmetry.
    You really achieved ‘cool’ with the abstract. Maybe the swimmers were scared away by the camera.

    Like

  4. You have got some seriously cold weather where you live. Both pics convey just how cold. The ice does make for some gorgeous photos. I’m glad you did not get too near and that you used the 300 lens. The long lens sure gets the job done.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jim in IA says:

    Impressive masses of ice, Steve. They remind me of the ice climbing silos we have in Iowa. They are a serious challenge even for the experienced climbers.
    http://www.siloiceclimbing.com/

    Like

    • Oh boy. That would scare the h-e-double-toothpicks (to quote that famous Iowan, Radar O’Reilly) out of me, Jim. Has one of those ice formations ever collapsed backwards. That would be my fear. The landing spot does not look very soft. Maybe there are projections to hold as the ice forms around and inside them?

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Lottie Nevin says:

    HOLY MOLEY! That’s pretty impressive. What splendid shots. I love the ‘ice blue’ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ll join Just Rod in saying that I don’t mind the asymmetry caused by the fallen ice in the first picture, though the branches coming in at the right distract me, especially the one in the bottom right corner. The second image is lovely, and the tinge of pale blue works as you intended.

    Like

  8. The last one is exceptionally beautiful!

    Like

  9. Fabulous photos . . . love them!

    Like

  10. shoreacres says:

    When I was cruising Glacier Bay, the biggest surprise was the colors in the ice. The blues were truly lovely, and the blue you’ve shown in the second photo was common there.

    When I looked at the second photo, I thought immediately of Edvard Grieg’s “In the Hall of the Mountain King.” from Peer Gynt. Maybe it’s the resemblance of some of the formations to troll hats and long beards. Anyway, I was going to link a symphonic version, but then I found this, and was mesmerized.

    Like

    • Thanks for both the visual/audio connection and the link to that “electrifying” performance. I know that my first experience hearing that piece was a rock version and I thought it was by Emerson, Lake and Palmer but I could not find it on YouTube. I did find a version by The Who and for a moment thought of sharing it as possibly the worst rendering of Grieg’s work ever. But it was so bad that I couldn’t being myself to force anyone to listen. It’s up to you whether you wish to pursue the aural torture they created.

      I love the blue that forms in very cold ice and was happy to see this. I am glad you enjoyed it here, Linda.

      Like

  11. Lyle Krahn says:

    You certainly picked the best part of that larger scene. Beautiful.

    Like

  12. Sandra says:

    lovely ice and cool blue tones in the second image. I very much prefer to set the WB manually – who says that the camera’s WB is right? 😉 you indeed had some very nice cold times and I hope you enjoyed it despite your “handicap”. Better times coming soon 🙂

    Like

    • The only problem with that is my memory, Sandra. I’ve often shot landscapes at a higher ISO that I would like as I forget that it had been changed prior for another subject. I leave the WB on AWB and adjust in ACR. Even if I had set it to a cooler temp in camera, I would probably still adjust it in ACR anyway.

      Like

  13. I didn’t realize that waterfalls froze…that’s really cool! I like what you’ve done with it here. Adjusting the temperature of the white really emphasizes the chill. Brrrrr.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am glad that you can “feel” the cold because it was quite chilly, Melissa. I guess that the volume and speed with which the water is flowing will have a lot to do with whether the waterfall freezes. Most of the ones around here have a nice steady but slow motion.

      Like

Leave a Reply

