01.15.2015 Even on the coldest days of winter, there’s a fungus amongus.

Polyporice frostii

Polyporice-2-700WebPolyporice frostii v.toes

Polyporice-1-700Web🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Black and White, Closeup Photography, Ice, macro photography, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to 01.15.2015 Even on the coldest days of winter, there’s a fungus amongus.

  1. Wow … nearly dead-ringers for the bracket fungi these formations are mimicking, the first pair especially. If living, my guess would have been that they were some silicon-based life-forms … made of glass. It must have been really cold … the snow is very course. And, of course, black and white works wonders here. D

    Like

    • Cold indeed. Single numbers. We are to have mid-singles tomorrow morning, as we do today, so I am hopeful for what I may find. Not today though….work gets in the way.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I haven’t been out with the camera since getting back from Switzerland. Feeling guilty about that. It’s been easier to sit by the stove and work with those images. I’m afraid though that the supply will soon run dry and I’ll have to venture out into the (very) cold. I’ll stay out of the supercooled waters if you do.

        Like

      • I’ll do my best, David. Sometimes the enthusiasm of the moment takes precedence.

        Like

  2. Jim in IA says:

    Don’t try to cook those. They fall apart and appear to melt into a liquid.

    Today we got out for a walk in the 36˚ temps. Clear and sunny. Beautiful day. We are sending it your way now that we are finished with it.

    Like

  3. Andrew says:

    Bigfoot climbing out of an ice hole?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. For a photographer who spends as much time out in the cold as you do, an evocation of icy toes is just the thing. Clever. The forms in the first picture made me think of clams; those in the second of scalloped (another sea creature) mittens.

    Like

    • I would be in big trouble without boot warmers, Steve. My toes are just as susceptible to Raynaud’s as my fingers. It’s frustrating that boots rated at -40°don’t keep the dogs warm.
      I hadn’t seen clams or scallops but do now.

      Like

  5. So unusual and so beautiful. Excellent B&W. Toes in the snows. 🙂

    Like

  6. Lyle Krahn says:

    I come here to learn new words among other things – not disappointed.

    Like

  7. shoreacres says:

    I was mightily confused at first. I had to go look up the actual fungi, and then look at the photos, and then ponder the fungi… Finally, I figured it out. I must say, I like that second photo. Abominable snow toes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

