12.30.2014 Mount Lizzie Pleasantness

Mount Lizzie is one of the hills that became islands when the Quabbin was flooded back in the 1930s.  For a reference, here is a link to a couple of images posted on Exploring Western Massachusetts showing it before the flooding.  The shape is quite interesting and I’ve endeavored to photograph it from a few spots as part of a project, so far aimless, along the idea of Hokusai’s Views of Mount Fuji which I have mentioned in an earlier post.  If you have not seen them before, click the link and then click through the images.  One of my favorite bodies of artwork.

As I mentioned in yesterdays waterfall post, this is not the loveliest time of the year for landscapes.  But we can still enjoy some of the scenery despite the sere conditions.  I hope you like this view of Lizzie.

Mount-Lizzie-122814-700Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 12.30.2014 Mount Lizzie Pleasantness

  1. A very pretty scene. Looks like fall or early winter. The hill has an odd name, But I sure like this photo for some reason. The trees are framing the scene beautifully and of course the rock adds another dimension which makes the photo complete.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Yvonne. This was one of those images that just materialized as I drove through the park. I’ve shot this angle a few times, but with greenery it didn’t really have the same impact as this early winter snowless view.

      Like

  2. Andrew says:

    Excellent composition, Steve. I sense a book coming on at the end of the project.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You’ve become a seer of the sere, Steve, I’m glad to see you got some sun to enhance your photographic fun.

    When I hear the name Lizzie in connection with Massachusetts, I think about Lizzie Borden. I’ll probably never be able to axe that link from my mind.

    Like

    • Yup, I make the same connection when I hear, say or see Mount Lizzie.
      “Lizzie Borden took an axe
      And gave her mother forty whacks.
      When she saw what she had done
      She gave her father forty-one.”

      Like

  4. Lottie Nevin says:

    I wonder if this should be called, ‘Between a rock and a hard place?’ A beautiful photograph, it shows the nakedness of winter which I love and reminds me of the Christina Rossetti poem ‘In the bleak mid-winter’ Steve, apologies for being off-radar for awhile. I’ve been back in the UK for Christmas and busy with family so no time for blogs or blogging. Here’s wishing you and yours, a VERY HAPPY NEW YEAR and may 2015 bring you health, happiness and lots of opportunities to make more of your brilliant work. Love, Lottie xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • No apologies necessary, Lottie. I hope that you had a marvelous Christmas at home with family and friends.
      I wish all the same for you and Pete and am looking forward to year two of your adventures in Spain.

      Like

  5. Jim in IA says:

    Were you standing between a rock and a hard place?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. shoreacres says:

    I found this terrific map that let me find a number of the places you’ve mentioned – even some of the ponds. I must say — you’re one of the best sereious photographers I know. 🙂

    Like

  7. Nice how you echoed her shape with the stone in front.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

