12.26.2014 Quabbin Sunrise

For a change, the sky improved as I drove out of our neighborhood.  The clouds were moving quickly toward the east, but today they did not coalesce into one large bank on the horizon.

This image is me getting used to the Zeiss 21mm and trying HDR which I rarely use.  First time with Google/Nik’s HDR Efex Pro2 as well. I’m just part way along the learning curve.

Gate-5-Sunrise-2-122614-700Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Reviews, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 12.26.2014 Quabbin Sunrise

  1. A real beauty Steve, you lucky dog. I’m not sure why our part of the world seems entirely lacking in this sort of color! When we do get a bit of a blush … it’s just that … a bit of a blush! Perhaps it’s our hilly topography which limits any sort of reasonable view of the horizon. Anyway … totally jealous … totally.

    Like

    • Thanks, David. I am lucky. …..I don’t often get a sky like this. Either the horizon gets blocked or I am not able to take advantage of a nice sunrise….especially lately with sunup coming after my start time at work. The hills don’t help for sure although there are some here.

      Like

  2. well on the way through the learning curve it appears

    Like

  3. This is beautiful. Composition is superb, reflection of the sky in the water is brilliant, the star burst of the sun is stupendous and the foreground rocks- well they rock the photograph.

    Like

  4. krikitarts says:

    Spectacular, Steve. I love the capabilities that HDR opens up, and the Nik software in particular, but have seen many folks succumb to the temptation of using it to too much the extreme. I see that you have resisted that, with a wonderful result. The rays from the half-hidden sun add a great dot on the overall i.

    Like

    • Thanks, Gary. I am pretty happy with the initial results, but it was seat of the pants and I think I may have overdone it just a smidge. That sunstar is something I’ve desired for a while and all the praise for that belongs to the Zeiss glass and 9-blade diaphragm. My Canon zooms just can’t provide the sharp rays.

      Like

  5. I think your HDR spells YES.

    Like

  6. Andrew says:

    This is very accomplished Steve because I did not realise it was an HDR image. I’d give a lot for a sunrise like that to shoot. Superb.

    Like

    • Thanks. I don’t get these sunrises often either, Andrew. When they do occur I am happy just to see them but certainly do strive for images too.
      I am not sure I will do many HDRs but it is always nice to have another tool in the kit.

      Like

  7. shoreacres says:

    Good gosh. I’d just be happy to see the sun, let alone a sun like this. The whole time I was gone for Christmas, it was cloudy, foggy, drizzly, rainy, or gloomy — except for the time when I couldn’t indulge myself with taking photos. The few times I really wanted a good photo of something, they turned out — well, not so good. Sigh.

    Anyway, it’s a beautiful sunrise and a beautiful photo. I’d say you got yourself a 24 carat golden hour.

    Like

    • It was a beautiful start to the day and a bonus that I have the proof. That’s a shame that you had such disappointing Heather, Linda. I hope the company and activities were enough to make up for it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

