12.22.2014 Looking for Lobster Heaven

Another archive dabble.

Early one morning I got out early and drove up Cadillac Mountain at Acadia N.P. for sunrise.  As you might guess from this picture I had the same cloud bank luck there as I do here.  But I was fortunate to see this boat heading out into the fog.  I may be mistaken about the type of catch they were after, but I am pretty sure it was Lobstah.  Maybe Mary Beth and I even enjoyed one of theirs later that day in a nice toasted roll.

Lobster-Boat-in-Frenchman's-Bay-060606Curiously enough, the date of this photograph was 06/06/06 if that is of any significance.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Maine, National Parks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 12.22.2014 Looking for Lobster Heaven

  1. Oh boy … now, that one I really like. Just terrific. And, the After Party sounds wonderful (and tasty) as well. Joanna and I biked P.E.I. tip-to-tip two summers ago and sampled fare from all across Maine and on the island, from east-to-west. We are in agreement that the best meal we had … lobster rolls at a place in Charlottetown. Memorable is the only word that can describe it. Nothing will ever compare (perhaps it had something to do with the cumulative number of calories burned to that point in the trip!). And, what do you mean … you drove up for the sunrise … what time did you wake up … 8PM the evening BEFORE?! D

    Like

    • Checking with Photographer’s Ephemeris, sunrise on Otter Rocks is at 4:49 am next June 6, so on Cadillac it is easily 15 or 20 minutes earlier plus…or really minus…a half hour to get the twilight that precedes dawn. I would be up there by 4 am at least. And….I don’t use an alarm. When I go to bed knowing I have to be up at a certain time, I sleep fitfully, waking off and on to check the clock. I hate alarms. 🙂 Also, even in June, the weather on top of the mountain can require a parka.

      Our favorite place in Bar Harbor for lobster rolls (The Island Chowder House) closed five years ago or so. We were very disappointed…although obviously not as much as the owner. Yeah, extreme exertion does make even tofu more tantalizing.

      I was on my way down Cadillac, about 1/3 of the way down, when I saw the fog bank across the bay. I was pretty interested in that and just manged to notice the boat and get off one decent shot.

      Like

  2. Andrew says:

    Embrace your inner clouds, Steve. This is glorious.

    Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    That’s the most interesting wake I’ve ever seen. Under normal circumstances, it would be a nice, smooth, inverted “V” behind the boat. But look at that asymmetry on the left. When I enlarged it as much as I could, and got out the magnifying glass, it almost looks s though there are two vessels, or a trawl on the port side, or something else I can’t figure out. That might explain the wake..

    Even so, it still looks strange. Could there be submerged rocks, or shoaling, or something to set the waves off in a different direction?

    Whatever the explanation for those little oddities, it’s a wonderful capture.To take leave of the land in first light is an experience solely its own, and I’ve not seen many photos that do as well with it as this one does.

    Like

  4. krikitarts says:

    I’m in full agreement with Shoreacres on the mystery of the enigmatic break in the wake. I suspect it may be the result of a shallower section of the bay, but anything’s possible. Whatever the cause for that may be, the vessel’s journey into the ethereal unknown is inspiring and your treatment of the lighting is exquisite. BTW, it’s a pleasure to be aboard.

    Like

    • I appreciate you visiting the blog, Gary. Thanks.
      As I mentioned to Linda, this is close to the shoreline, so any number of possibilities exist.
      It is quite an odd look to it though. I think an ebb from the shore may be the best explanation.

      Like

  5. Jim in IA says:

    My brother lives on the coast of Maine about midway. He likes to kayak in the quiet waters. It is a beautiful place.

    Like

  6. A really beautiful and unique scene. I like the older pics very much.

    Like

  7. Devilishly beautiful, Steve! 🙂
    Seriously, though, I really love this one.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sounds like such a truly wonderful day…Gorgeous photo.

    Like

Leave a comment