12.19.2014 Reflection

With the weekend upon us, I am going through locations in my mind that I might visit.  Conditions are still not very inspiring, but the responsibility, should I venture out, is all mine to find what is interesting.  Everything in nature is meaningful to someone and finding a subject in these days of decaying plants, bare trees and too often overcast skies is a challenge but also the opportunity to do something unique.

Simplification can help to eliminate some of the distracting and less attractive elements of the landscape and create an image that offers the chance to reflect on our existence

Tarn-minimalism-100913-800Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to 12.19.2014 Reflection

  1. Nice … I like this very much. Is it a crop? Or, was this the full-frame +/-?

    Like

  2. Jackson says:

    Really nice, Steve! I was playing with some stuff along these lines recently, so it’s nice to see such a perfect example. The gentle gradient on the water is beautiful, and the small piece of grass really makes the image.

    Like

    • Thanks, Jackson. I’ve seen a few similar subjects over the years, but most often there is something that interferes. I was happy to find this one although the isolation was made complete with a crop.

      Like

  3. Let’s hear it for minimalism! Your picture reminds me of some minimalist things that Harry Callahan did, like

    and

    http://www.moma.org/collection/object.php?object_id=52122

    Like

  4. This one is eloquent and graceful. It tops the category of grass in water, which I have done quite a bit.

    Like

  5. Jim in IA says:

    I like the simplicity. My eye looked for the symmetrical reflection of the short stem on the lower half of the big one. Of course, it shouldn’t be there. That’s just how my mind worked.

    Like

  6. Lottie Nevin says:

    Very ZEN. Great image, Steve 🙂

    Like

  7. Andrew says:

    I see an Archer’s bow, Steve. Wonderfully soothing image.

    Like

  8. shoreacres says:

    Beautiful. Sometimes a photo comes along that doesn’t remind me of anything. It just is what it is. This is one of those photos.

    Like

    • You have just identified the thought that sometimes is all there is to a photograph, Linda. At least mine in most cases. I know that for a photograph to be considered art, there must be some sort of artist’s statement inferred. I am not sure that is always the sole definition, but most often “it is what it is” is my message, I guess. Thanks.

      Like

  9. krikitarts says:

    What an elegant abstract, instantly intriguing. I find myself drawn into it–can’t just glance at it and then away again, as it needs savoring time.

    Like

  10. Very Zen, Steve. Beautiful~

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

