12.17.2014 Americana take two

I got an email from Ebenezer asking to see yesterday’s image in color.  So I processed another file, but one in landscape format.  I’ll leave it to anyone who wishes to share a preference as to which is preferable.  Since I created both, I like each for different reasons.Market-Hill-Barn-3-121514-700WebAnd, as I am such a helpful guy, here is yesterday’s post so you don’t have to go back and forth.

Market-Hill-Barn-2-121514-700WebSome people feel that the way one chooses which images should be in black and white depends on the quality of the color.  Poor color?  Convert.  Sometimes that works.  Sometimes it works either way.  My feeling is that the choice should be made based on what the image has to offer and says to the viewer.  There was a time when the only choice was black and white.  Modern cameras give us the flexibility to have both available in the same image.  It’s nice to have options.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 12.17.2014 Americana take two

  1. Jim in IA says:

    I choose the top one in color and landscape. The shrubs are whole. More of the building shows. I like old buildings.

    Like

  2. Just Rod says:

    I think they are both fine images. I tend to the warmer subjects so the top one appeals to me more. But as an artistic study the second is possibly a head above.
    Great to be able to compare.

    Like

    • When I first looked at this from a closer vantage point than a street drive by, I felt that monochrome would be a nice way to deal with the weathered boards of the barn. So that was my first response. But the more I worked there, the more the color seemed more appealing. I appreciate these comments expressing the reasoning behind the choices. Thanks, Rod.

      Like

  3. I find the pale tones of the top one contribute to the feeling of age.

    Like

    • When I posted this comparison and request for opinions, I fully expected you to prefer the color based on previous comments, Steve. But I do agree with your reasoning….the faded color of the flag is in full keeping with the weathered boards and wheel and the broken window.

      Like

  4. Lottie Nevin says:

    That’s interesting….yesterday I was thinking to myself ‘I’m glad that Monsieur Gingold has developed this as a black and white image, the colour would be SO disappointing……’ and now, (call me ‘change yer mind Charlie’ ) I’m finding myself swooning over the colour one – You are going to think me most fickle but, I’m going to put my hand up and say I like the colour one best and the reason is that the tones are beautifully muted and it feels ‘old’ – antiquated is probably the grown-up way to describe it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It is sort of a toss up. Lottie made a good point for the color. I still lean toward the monochrome for the dramatic effect. Gorgeous pic either way..

    Like

  6. I really like the one with color … the b/w lacks interest … but the color has lots of texture to my eye … even the wheel itself pops a bit more. Definitely the color … most definitely. Thanks for investing the time in both. D

    Like

    • For me, the black and white is more about shapes and contrasts which is generally one reason to eliminate the distraction of color. The color image is a story teller. One thing I am disappointed in with the monochrome is the way the broken glass becomes lost in the shadows….of course a simple reprocessing could solve that. It stands out much better in color. And as mentioned by others, the faded colors give a much better sense of age.

      Like

  7. shoreacres says:

    I’m still sticking with the black and white. I like the vertical composition better, and I feel as though the flag as the focus of the photo gets lost in the color version. Somehow, the color version seems more monochromatic to me than the black and white. And, the b&w seems to fit in the tradition of Dorothea Lange’s FSA photos.

    Like

    • In processing the black and white image, I selected the flag for improving contrast and brightened it up a bit as well. I did the same for the wheel. In addition to it being more about the shapes, I wanted to stress those two features although I may have been a bit overly dramatic in my rendering.
      For the color version, I did not do much editing at all. It seemed pretty much as I wanted without much contrast.

      Like

  8. The composition of the black and white is great, but it really creeps me out for some reason. It strike as more desolate than the color version, where I find myself saying with a giggle, “Nice patina!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

