12.14.14 Stick and Stone

There is not much snow on the ground here in the Pioneer Valley, but out in the Berkshires and Hilltowns they received a lot more and most of it remains so that is where I went yesterday.  I hoped to find Chapelbrook Falls in a winter spiff, but didn’t really see anything that I liked.  Too many dead falls and wind blown trees lying in the water.

But I did notice this rock and liked the way the snow had created a sort of texture by gripping the small bits of moss that cling to its side.

Stick-and-Stone-121314-700Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to 12.14.14 Stick and Stone

  1. Jim in IA says:

    I like the texture, too. I’d say that rock is not going anywhere soon.

    Like

  2. Andrew says:

    How did that get there I wonder. Did it roll?

    Like

    • Rock and Roll, Andrew. I would imagine it is an erratic left behind by the Wisconsin glacier as it carved the landscape.

      Like

      • Andrew says:

        I need more geography and geology lessons, Steve.

        Like

      • Also known as the Ice Age, Andrew. The glacier covered about a half of the Northern Hemisphere as far south as our Mid-Atlantic coast. With all that weight behind it, it scoured and carved much of the land, leaving mountains and valleys as it receded. As it melted, the rock it crushed and swallowed was left as “erratics” some of which sit on mountain tops as boulders My home sits within the old Glacial Lake Hitchcock and we have, I am told, clay that is anywhere from 25 to 80 feet thick below us..

        Like

  3. Would that be an erratic? Also, that looks like a good bit of a slope. Perhaps you got a bit of exercise? Hope to get out with the camera today, first time in a week. Total overcast … bummer. D

    Like

    • I would think so, David. Yeah, it is a little bit of climbing to get out although not terribly challenging until there is a foot or more snow. This wasn’t bad…only some slight huffing and puffing.
      I hope you were able to do some shooting. It started partly sunny but eventually became overcast here before then clearing back to partly partly for the afternoon.

      Like

      • Actually…I should allow for the remote possibility that some Early American farmers could have moved it there from some location higher up….but that seems a little low on the possibility scale. When land was cleared in New England, as almost all was, a lot of rocks were moved out of the way so it could have been rolled down there. Seems kind of large, but those folks were pretty tough.

        Like

      • No luck here. Dropped Joanna at her destination at about 1PM and then drove around Amish country for nearly 90 minutes without a single stop. Total overcast and pretty-darn darn all afternoon. I’m taking my pack with me to work tomorrow and will try again … before the rain on Tuesday. D

        Like

  4. Yes, this is nice. There is something wonderful about big rocks.

    Like

  5. Just Rod says:

    What came first the rock or the trunk?

    Like

  6. Love those rocks. Large or small- does not matter. This one is interesting as if seems to be keeping the tree company. I bet it is really pretty without the snow when covered with green moss in the warmer months.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. shoreacres says:

    Your title took me directly to that bit of childhood wisdom we all knew: “Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me.” Later on, we learned life is a little more complex than that, but it worked as a defense in grade school.

    Even though I know that’s a rock — solid and heavy — the image brings to mind the hoops we used to roll with sticks when we were kids. Lordy — I sound like I grew up in the 1800s. But that’s what we did, and it was fun.

    What I especially like about the photo is the contrast in texture between the tree and the rock. Well, and the contrast in shapes. The straight line of the tree and the curve of the rock makes me think: tangent!

    Like

    • That rhyme was the inspiration for the title, Linda. I don’t recall it ever helping much for avoiding bruises in my childhood.
      I am thinking that I have a few years on you, but not enough to be of an age that rolled those hoops. The only hoops I played with involved a basketball and the hula. But I imagine they were good exercise and built up stamina
      The contrast in shape and texture was just what attracted me.. I walked past and beyond to look at the falls a while, but was thinking about this the time by the water and returned…well, return is coincidental as I had to pass it on my way out.

      Like

  8. Lottie Nevin says:

    You can’t beat a good rock. Is it a pet rock? 😉

    Like

  9. Lyle Krahn says:

    I like it too. That snow makes some wonderfully a inconsistent beauty cover.

    Like

Leave a Reply

