12.13.14 Amethyst Brook Cascade and Falls

From this past November, this was the downstream approach to the swirl image which is located in a pool at the upper right.Β  The more I look at the swirl the more I think it needs a reprocessing.

Anyway, this is more my style of shot rather than something all swirly.

Amethyst-Brook-110814-700WebI guess a little earlier in the season would have been nicer with a few red leaves on the rocks, but…..

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to 12.13.14 Amethyst Brook Cascade and Falls

  1. Andrew says:

    The foreground is incredible Steve. I wonder if there is a landscape crop about 3/8 of the way up.

    Like

  2. Lottie Nevin says:

    I marvel at your brilliance in managing to make water look like it’s standing still yet moving at the same time – does that make sense? probably not but I hope you know what I mean πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jim in IA says:

    I was out yesterday in the fog hiking with a friend near the Mississippi River. http://www.nps.gov/efmo/index.htm
    It was super quiet with no one else around. We saw and heard some Bald Eagles close by. I got a few pix but need time to work on which to show.

    I like your shot. Make no excuses. It is what was present. Tis good.

    Like

  4. This one I really like. Those rocks make the pic which are prettier than than the falls. I just like rocks. I’m always picking up rocks from my gravel driveway. Also this is an excellentent photo.

    Like

    • Then you would like me, Yvonne. My head is full of them, I pick up interesting rocks occasionally and have them lined up on the top of my desk here. Mostly I grab them when they are wet and the colors are not the same when dry, but I enjoy them just the same.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I have a collection of rocks in several bowls and some lined up on a short brick wall by my car port. I like the very round ones and the oval shaped ones and some odd shaped ones. I am always surprised by what I find in the gravel after a hard rain.

        But of course my heard is full of rocks too or maybe it’s noodles. There’s an expression “noodle headed.”

        Like

      • Just Rod says:

        I love rocks too. Once in sermon time i took a bucket of rocks and asked each person to take one. Each had to say one thing about their rock tgst was beautiful. I told them to go home and do the same with every person they met.
        I think i can be annoying at times
        Great photo Steve, but I still like the swirly one too.

        Like

      • I hope no one came back and said what a good throwing rock you had given them, Rod. πŸ™‚ But that second suggestion is awesome.

        Like

      • Just Rod says:

        You have to be a little stupid to give people amunition during sermon time 😳

        Like

      • Considering your location, I would assume that you were safe….for the time being. πŸ™‚

        Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    I can’t remember if I’ve said this before (I’m not even sure whether I’ve thought it before), but I’ve finally decided the reason I’m less fond of cottony water is that it all looks the same to me. And, the sense of flow seems to go missing.

    I suppose that’s part of what makes the rocks seem the strongest element in this photo. Of course, I’m a great fan of rocks, so that plays into it, too. I do find my eye drawn to the middle of the photo, with its watery-looking water and the one red leaf. It reminds me of O. Henry’s “The Last Leaf”.

    Like

    • I tried to capture the softness of the water with some evidence of motion as well as I mentioned above. I like the strength that the foreground rocks give the cascade and the way the water is carried through the image from the falls by all the rocks. That said, if I had a backhoe, I think I would prefer a fewer rocks in the middle ground. One of the reasons I did not convert this to Black and White is the color in those foreground rocks and the ruddy one on the middle left.

      Like

  6. Sounds like your idea for a few red leaves on the rocks is on the rocks, at least till next fall, unless you can still find some long-lived colorful leaves to put into the water upstream of the falls in hopes that they’ll catch on the rocks on their way downstream.

    You mentioned thinking that your swirly photograph might need reprocessing. I get the same feeling about some of my pictures from time to time when I look back at an old blog post. So much seems to depend on the visual mood I was in at the time of the original processing, and during a later look-back my sensibilities can be rather different. If I had to generalize, I’d say the most common change I feel the need to make is toward a darker image. For example, at

    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com/2012/12/31/sycamore-leaf-and-clouds/

    I went back to that image this morning, added a curves adjustment layer, and pulled the straight line down a bit into the lower right portion of the color space.

    Like

    • There are enough trees there that I am sure a few leaves will land on the rocks by their own descent.
      Very often I find it both instructive and rewarding to reprocess images from past years. In this case the swirl is from a past week. Some is the mood and some is just plain wondering what the heck I was thinking. The swirl is way over-processed and needs to be toned down. I don’t know what the leaf in your image looked like before, but I like it now.

      Like

      • Yes, even as soon as a week later we can have second thoughts about how we processed an image. The leaf picture I linked to was originally processed with a bit more exposure, which I now thought was too much.

        Like

  7. Lyle Krahn says:

    I do like your style. It makes me want to sit there for awhile and enjoy the sights and sounds. Were in the water when you took this?

    Like

  8. This one has an interesting appeal. It’s color scheme seems to reside on the boarder between color and black and white. I know it has color, but the range of the palette is limited to mostly grays and browns and, of course, those hints of green. Nice effect. I think someone, up above, commented on the push/pull dynamic of the spill-way in the foreground. Nice. A+

    Like

    • Thanks, David. Despite the mostly earthy tones, this really didn’t work well in black and white. In this case I think the neutral colors allow the white water to stand out but without the strong contrasts of a monochrome conversion. Although I complained about the lack of autumn foliage I think this works on its own well enough. That’s my story and I am sticking to it.

      Like

  9. Your style shines in this one πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

