12.01.2014 Don’t trust the Weather Forecast

When I read the forecast this morning, it said we were overcast with a cloudy day ahead.  Fortunately, I went outside with Murphy and saw that…get ready for a shock…the forecast was wrong.  The sky was filled with high thin clouds and there were stars visible.  If I based my plans on the weather guess I would have missed a nice dawn sky.  I’ve been nursing back spasms for that last several days and haven’t been out to shoot in over a week.  I could have just decided to give it one more day’s rest.

South-Maple-Dawn-1b-120114-700WebNot much of a hike involved…just a drive to a Hadley, MA farm.

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 12.01.2014 Don’t trust the Weather Forecast

  1. Oh, Steve, this is gorgeous! Wonderful composition, and just look how the snow is glowing with color.
    I hope your back has eased up. Those spasms are really painful.

    Like

  2. Very nice. I have been noticing a little color in our morning skies, but nothing like this – it looks like July – save the snow, of course. You are lucky for having been present for such a nice sunrise … but unlucky for having to put up with a bad back. Hang in there. This too shall pass. D

    Like

    • I usually end up with a cloud bank on the horizon that kills the dawn color, but today I was lucky and got a lovely sky for a change.
      I’ve had a herniated disk act up on me twice so, given a choice, I’ll take the spasms. 🙂
      Fortunately I had 5 days off so there was time to recover. It’s funny how they seem to sneak up on you….never right when you do something identifiable..I was just walking across the parking lot.

      Like

  3. Lottie Nevin says:

    Steve, this photograph gives me goose bumps, it’s absolutely stunning. The sky reminds me of the winters of my childhood, very special. Great photograph.

    Like

  4. Jim in IA says:

    Mark Twain spoke on Forefathers’ Day Dec. 23, 1876 about New England weather. http://www.twainquotes.com/18761223.html

    “Yes, one of the brightest gems in the New England weather is the dazzling uncertainty of it. There is only one thing certain about it, you are certain there is going to be plenty of weather. A perfect grand review; but you never can tell which end of the procession is going to move first. You fix up for the drought; you leave your umbrella in the house and sally out with your sprinkling pot, and ten to one you get drowned. You make up your mind that the earthquake is due; you stand from under, and take hold of something to steady yourself, and the first thing you know, you get struck by lightning. These are great disappointments. But they can’t be helped. The lightning there is peculiar; it is so convincing when it strikes a thing, it doesn’t leave enough of that thing behind for you to tell whether – well, you’d think it was something valuable, and a Congressman had been there.”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lyle Krahn says:

    Back pain, phantom forecasts and gorgeous sunsets – I can relate to all of them but like your sunset the best.

    Like

  6. Nicely done. You’re our vicarious venturer into the dawn. The snow is an extra touch not available to some of us.

    Like

    • Dawn has been my time of the day since I had a paper route as a kid, Steve. I have to be pretty sick to be in bed after 4 a.m. I wish the snow cover had been better but there is more to come, I am fairly confident.

      Like

  7. Steve I wondered why there were no posts from you. I do hope the spasms are better, Take good care of yourself.

    This is another photo that should be printed and displayed somewhere. The composition if just perfect. Four trees that are lined up horizontally and three trees that are closer to the foreground that are lined up vertically. The sky is so vibrant. Really exceptional.

    Like

    • Thanks for noticing the placement of the trees, Yvonne. I left a lot of tracks in the snow and mud deciding where to stand. 🙂
      The spasms are gone for now. I am pretty careful but sometimes it’s just the way you step on some awkward footing. I need to exercise that area of my back more.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. shoreacres says:

    What a glorious morning you had. The combination of snow, trees, and color is wonderful. I’m especially fond of the trees. We used to ice skate at night, and there just isn’t anything like bare-branched trees casting their shadows across the snow under a full moon.

    I’m glad to hear your back is better. I had some back problems myself about fifteen years ago, and it’s no fun. I wasn’t happy with my more recent torn rotator cuff, but I’ll take that over back problems any day.

    Like

    • It was quite a nice experience, Linda. I drove around for a little while seeing what was developing and trying to decide which would be the better spot. I am also fond of bare trees.

      A torn rotator cuff is pretty painful. But absolutely not as bad as a back injury. I have a herniated disk that has flared up twice. Inescapable pain. I understand that a rib injury can be awful as well. I guess a sign of aging is the frequency which health and injury become topics for conversation.

      Like

Leave a Reply

