11.21.2014 Feathery Frost and Black Ice

It’s been a long week, but the weekend is here and tomorrow morning is predicted to be the coldest of the season to date.  18°F….it’s been colder elsewhere, but for us the house timbers should be giving up a few creaks overnight.

Probably not cold enough for this, but maybe a little ice will be evident.

Feathery-Crystals-2-020709-700Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Black and White, Closeup Photography, Ice, macro photography, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 11.21.2014 Feathery Frost and Black Ice

  1. Jim in IA says:

    Get a blanket and do some snuggling.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Another nice ice addition. In that Coffee Table book of your work that you’ll publish someday you had better be sure to have a chapter with the title of Winter … all of these recent shots belong there, for sure. I hope to be out with the camera as well … sometime (hopefully) tomorrow. Here’s to good luck to us both! D

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Andrew says:

    18F is ccccccold. We are still at 24C and I have not seen any ice yet other than in a glass of lemon tea. Perhaps Murphy will enjoy it but Lulu is a tropical girl. She would not like 18F.

    Like

    • You are right on that score, Andrew. I am not looking forward to the cold despite my excitement over the return of ice. I guess I am Dr.Icycle and Mr.Hyde or something like that.

      Murphy is not too happy about the cold but he does put up with it. What he really does not care for is wet feet…either from rain or snow.

      Like

  4. Some of the little branching structures remind me of moth antennae.

    Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    The very phrase “black ice” makes me nervous. Of all the horrors that winter can hold, frozen overpasses and bridges are right at the top of my list.

    Now that Steve’s mentioned moth antennae, I see them, especially there in the middle of the photo. But truly – I was thinking more about the throw rug that a friend’s puppy got hold of.

    Like

    • We do get a lot of the black ice here as you might imagine. But it also describes my favorite ice to photograph frost in contrast. I’ve one from this morning that is black water as it hasn’t frozen yet.
      Puppies chew throw rugs? Never heard of such a thing. 🙂

      Like

  6. Nice shots and please keep the below freezing temps “up there.” I detest really cold weather. it has rained quite a bit since about 2 pm today. Still thundering. I had to shove some of the dogs outside about an hour ago. They didn’t tarry long in this weather. 🙂

    Like

    • If I have anything to say about it, Yvonne, you will have a comfy warm winter. Our cold is gone for a few days and we shall have a good rain tomorrow. Murphy agrees with your dogs and does not like wet weather. He abhors wet feet.

      Like

  7. Lottie Nevin says:

    This is stunning, Steve. Really beautiful, you can feel the freeze from here. Sorry that I’ve had to race through your other beautiful posts but I’ve been away and have something like 500 other blog posts to catch up on!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

