11.20.2014 Another cold one

Since I don’t do much photography during the week, it’s back to the archives again.  There may be some icy opportunities this weekend before we return to the 50s and 60s next week.

On a very cold Valentine’s Day morning in 2010 I found these abstract patterns in a ditch in Hadley, MA.  It’s the same ditch I visit for Trout Lilies in the Spring. These  images are a little more on the abstract side of things than yesterday’s.  Probably just as cold, but this is a freeze on top of a melt on top of a freeze formation.  A little carelessness could have caused the whole scene to crinkle into crumb ice.

Ice-Patterns-2-021410-700Web

Ice-Patterns-4,-021410-700Web

Ice-Patterns-1-021410-700WebWhen I was a kid, I loved stomping on this hollow ice stuff and hearing the echoey crunchy  sounds.  It was tempting, but I just made my images and left it uncrinkled.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Black and White, Closeup Photography, Ice, macro photography, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 11.20.2014 Another cold one

  1. Lyle Krahn says:

    I can’t believe you had the self control to stop the “child.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • As I was doing these, I noticed some fisher tracks in some nearby snow which drew my attention away from the ice. But to be honest, the fear of falling into the river had a lot to do with that too, Lyle.

      Like

  2. Great abstractions. You may envy me my frostweed ice, but I envy you your frozen ditches and creeks.

    Like

  3. Me too~ I used to love stompin’ on that ice. Still do, actually. 🙂 But only after peering into it to savor the beauty of it. Nice ice.

    Like

  4. Andrew says:

    OK, here’s the dumb question….. are these colour or monochrome, Steve?

    Like

  5. Abstract … for sure. And black and white works well. D

    Liked by 1 person

  6. shoreacres says:

    I especially like the way the second photo shows the different layers. I remember the expression “ice shards.” That implies broken ice, but the shapes here still are a good reminder. They also remind me of the crystals one of my friends brought me from her dig in Arkansas.

    Like

    • When I hear shards I think of glass first as I knew someone who received some severe cuts from a few. I imagine ice shards could do the same under the right circumstances.

      Those are some nice crystals. Quartz or another mineral?

      Like

      • shoreacres says:

        They are quartz. They’re from Mt. Ida, Arkansas, in the Ouachita Mountains. There’s probably more information than you want here, but it’s a nice overview.

        Like

      • Thanks for the link, Linda. Yup, way more than I wanted to know but I am glad I do now. There is a shop in Bar Harbor that I like to visit that sells all varieties or rocks, crystals and minerals. Most have been polished though and I prefer the ones in their natural state like yours.

        Like

Leave a Reply

