11.19.2014 Hoar Frost

Here is an example of why, despite my dislike of and discomfort in cold weather, I go out with my camera in winter.  The dark background is natural…a beaver pond in Cadwell Memorial Forest, Pelham.  I made a few images on this day with hoar frost everywhere I looked.

Hoar-frosted Twig at 4°F on 1/15/12.

Frosted-Twig-2-700WebTo get this image I had to kneel over my splayed tripod and, despite wearing thermals and flannel-lined jeans, enough heat transferred through my clothing to cause the fabric to stick to the ice.  The ice was pretty thick in most spots, but I did have to cross a few where it was thin.  I really appreciated my NEOS Overshoes.

I made another a few days earlier in similar conditions including this one with an algae influenced background that appeared here back in 2012.

It has been somewhat uncommonly cold lately, but we should see warmer weather over the weekend.  It will be a little while before intimate little frosty compositions such as these are available again.

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Closeup Photography, Ice, macro photography, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 11.19.2014 Hoar Frost

  1. I like the graceful line here. I’m remembering earlier days, clamboring around half-frozen wet meadows and having a fine time.

    Like

  2. Lyle Krahn says:

    Those intricate patterns in the snow are just stunning.

    Like

  3. Andrew says:

    The trick is to see these patterns in the first place, Steve. Most people pass them by. Worth a cold knee or two to get something like this.

    Like

    • I think that’s in one of my artist’s statements as a goal, Andrew. I try to show people what they pass up.
      I’ve added a few more warm things to my winter wardrobe and hope that saves a few split finger tips and numb feet this year.

      Like

  4. If the cold weather holds it is my intention to go hunting for similar creatures this weekend. This time I’m hoping the warmer weather and liquid precipitation hold off until Monday. D

    Like

    • Friday and Saturday nights here are to be cold. But the cold has to get into the low teens or single numbers for a good hoar frost event. I am not hopeful but one never knows. Good luck with your hoped for frigidity.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. You’re a star of the hoar frost: may you keep shining.

    Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    Fireworks, that’s what I see, rising up against the night sky. A different version of fire and ice, but a lovely one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

