11.17.2014 The Fleabane and the Fly

Yesterday Steve Scwartzman posted a Hover Fly image and suggested I post one that I mentioned in comment.  This is an oldie, from 2008, that I made along my driveway.

Hover, Flower or Syrphid Fly (Toxomerus marginatus) on a Daisy or Annual Fleabane (Erigeron annuus). So many names. At least, so far, the Latin names remain the same.

Hoverfly-on-Daisy-Fleabane-062308-800FBIt’s not unusual for these to show a nice stained glass appearance on the wings.

I am not sure I will leave yesterday’s post up as I think overall it could be processed better.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Insect Behavior, Insects, macro photography, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to 11.17.2014 The Fleabane and the Fly

  1. Wow. That’s a stunner! Really very nice. Either you have lightening-fast reflexes or this was a very relaxed Hover Fly! Rain, sleet, and just a bit of snow today … how are you doing? D

    Like

    • It was good fortune, David. I was making an image of the Fleabane when the Hover Fly dropped by. Although they were pretty numerous on this particular day and I was planning on chasing a few, but this one took care of things on its own.
      All rain here so far. I think, at least in my neighborhood, we missed the nasty part and are just in for a good soaking. OTOH, ice coated trees and leaves can make good subjects.

      Like

  2. Andrew says:

    Top shot, Steve. Very fine indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jim in IA says:

    Here is an oldie from my pre-digital days. I used extension tubes and a reversing ring for my Pentax with Kodachrome slide film.

    Like

  4. Lottie Nevin says:

    You’ve had one wow, now here’s another WOW! what an extraordinary image, Steve. So sharp, it’s flawless. Another WOW! 😀

    Like

  5. Love this oldie~ it is a goodie! Just look at that iridescence….These insects are fun to watch.

    Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    My goodness, what an image. It’s so crisp and clean. It gives me equipment envy. I know, I know — the camera and lens isn’t everything, but a good macro or telephoto lens can do wonderful things.
    I do so like the little fly. Wasn’t there an old ditty? “There was an old photog who followed a fly. I don’t know why he followed that fly….”

    Like

  7. Chalk up another image to be proud of, Steve. As shoreacres said, this is so crisp and clean.

    Like

Leave a Reply

