11.10.2014 Quabbin Forest Bouquet take two

This was a repeat attempt at this image.  I made one last year which is mostly the same but this has a bit broader view and is a little more vibrant.Quabbin-Foliage-and-Birches-110714-700WebToday is a day of no new imaging.  I am really quite behind in various “housekeeping” tasks like archiving and uploading images to the website.  All needing to be done so I can make some contacts with publishers to try to get some sales.  Speaking of sales, the 3 hour show the other night yielded two purchases.  I think that’s a good result for three hours.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Fall Foliage, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to 11.10.2014 Quabbin Forest Bouquet take two

  1. Lottie Nevin says:

    Terrific news about the sales – delighted for you, Steve. I’m envious of your Autumnal colours, it’s pretty here but because it’s mostly olives, not as visually exciting as the stunning tress in your neck of the woods (scuse pun!)

    Like

    • Thanks, Lottie. Yes, I am very appreciative that I live in an area with such a variety of trees and colorful foliage. Maybe you should import some maple seeds to spread around the hills and valleys there. You could be known as Lottie Mapleseed (just in case you don’t know the story… here it is …. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim in IA says:

    Good comparison images. Not much changed except for a different set of leaves.

    Do you get much action from publishers?

    Like

    • I have had a few things published in magazines, a calendar and a spider field guide where I got paid and a few things where I did not, Jim. I probably could have more if I was any good at self-promotion.

      Like

  3. Beautiful image, autumn colours on show!

    Like

  4. Roy Rogers and Dale Evans used to sing “Happy Trails to You,” but I’ll say happy sales to you. (You can add happy housekeeping if you wish.)

    I don’t have to tell you how fortunate you are to live in a region with magnificent fall foliage, which you took good advantage of.

    Like

  5. Yes indeed, that is good. I really like this image. I like the contrast of the horizontal yellow shrub against the strong vertical of the birches.

    Like

  6. There’s nothing quite as necessary as ‘taking care of business.’ Glad to hear that your photographic business went well too – congratulations. I like the image and am impressed by the amount of color you have remaining in your woods. Have fun with the archiving … I hope it goes as well as everything else. D

    Like

    • Even at this late date, there are some bits of color remaining locally. I am hoping to still find a little during the coming weekend.
      Thanks…I am pretty pleased to have made a couple of sales. I just don’t put myself out there enough.
      Unfortunately, no archiving or uploading so far today. Instead, of uploading I spent my time downloading trees and cutting the trunks into 15″ lengths for next winter’s warmth. It will only be enough for a couple of days, but it all counts.

      Like

      • Ha! I’ve been one-with-the-chainsaw as well! Was loading wood into the corn crib with an elevator yesterday afternoon and, don’t-you-know, a piece got jammed in just the wrong place and both drive chains self-destructed at the same moment. It always amazes me how equipment disasters require less than a second to occur and hours and hours to reverse! I did manage to get out with the camera on Saturday … the text is taking a bit of time … stay tuned. Also needed to undertake a stove repair today, so it’ll be electric oil-heaters tonight! Joanna won’t be pleased. Congratulations again on the sales … you are providing a good, and much needed, role model! D

        Like

      • Oh yeah…if we needed to use either the electric or oil heat the household would not be in harmony until the wood heat returned. I guess we are lucky to have three potential heat sources, but the wood is the most reliable. During the great Halloween snow storm power outage of a few years back, we were one of just a handful of households in the neighborhood who had both heat and the ability to cook simple meals. Didn’t help with the cold showers, though.

        Things sure do happen quickly with machinery. Usually those things are happening to me rather than the machine. I cut off the tips of three fingers…two on one occasion and one on the other and no longer own a table saw. Really, I just decided to give up having a woodshop as I was no longer restoring antiques. But I figured why wait for a third time. As a side benefit, the finishing room is where I am now sitting in front of my computer working on photography instead of wearing a Star Wars Imperial Storm Troopers outfit while spraying lacquer. I have a pair of jeans with a nice chainsaw tear in the thighmost area. Now I know to cut the branch rather than hold it out of the way while operating the saw with one hand. smh It happened faster than an eye blink.
        Could the elevator have jammed as it is intended for corn instead of logs? 🙂

        I could be an even better role model if I actively pursued sales rather than waiting for them to come to me. On that note…I just bought a copy of Photographer’s Market..

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Something about birches that brings out the Robert Frost in all of us.

    Like

  8. Congratulations, Steve on the sales. I’m curious to know which ones sold. Oh well. I’ll just need to reflect on oodles of posts and try to figure out what sold. 🙂

    The trees in this photos are fantastic. This one pic happens to be a favorite. It’s a simple study of the beauty found in the forest.

    Like

  9. Andrew says:

    So the hospital thing lasted ages and sold nothing. This was a one night stand and you scored twice. There’s a message in there, Steve. Congrats.

    Like

  10. shoreacres says:

    I noticed your comment about the barberry bushes, and that made me wonder about bayberry. I did a search here and didn’t find any entries for it. Do you come across it in your wanderings? I’ve always loved the scent of true bayberry candles (that is, not artificially perfumed). We often decorated for Christmas with fresh-cut pine and fir boughs, and bayberry when I was growing up. I still do, thanks to the Vermont Country Store (candles) and tree sellers who sometimes will sell trimmed branches for a couple of dollars a bundle.

    Now that I’ve got that out of my system, I’ll add how much I like this photo. I especially like the “stacked” orange and yellow, and the way both are framed by the birches. Lovely.

    Like

    • I am sorry that I have not photographed bayberry to this point, Linda. I’ll try to correct that in the future.
      The birch framing was what initially drew my attention as i was driving through Quabbin Park. Of course I noticed the color too, but there were many collections of color similar. The image of a vase full of flowers came to mind, hence the title.

      Like

Leave a Reply

