11.09.2014 Not my usual cup of tea

Swirls.  They are pretty popular with a lot of folks but I generally don’t try to make photographs with them included.  But there is one spot that I have visited where I thought I might try one.  This time of the year is not the best for photographing in the woods…some call it “stick season” but this waterfall is interesting enough that I thought it might be successful with the drab color as a foil.

So here goes my attempt to photograph a swirl at Amethyst Brook Falls.  (I have no idea if that is the real name, or if there is one at all, but this is Amethyst Brook and this is a waterfall.)

Amethyst-Brook-Falls-swirl-110814-700WebThat little bit of glare on the right could not be polarized away no matter where I spun the dial.  The filter did get rid of quite a bit though.

And while we are on the subject of forbidden elements in my images, here is some foam.  I hate foam in my water images, but I made an exception for this one and decided to embrace the foam.  Be the image…be the foam.  🙂

Amethyst-Brook-Foam-1a-110814-700WebMonochrome seemed the best way to go foamy abstract.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Black and White, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to 11.09.2014 Not my usual cup of tea

  1. Definitely! The foam is terrific. Great work. I love the texture as well as the comp.
    James

    Like

  2. Love the first photo. Gee those are some really huge swirls. Looks like an abstract painting. Nice work, Steve.

    Like

  3. Jim in IA says:

    I like the big swirl. What were the settings?

    The foam picture made me think of this.
    http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/IOTD/view.php?id=4174

    Like

  4. I really like the swirl image … absolutely no reason to apologize … the colors a few but that is easily made up for by detail and interest. Your view could be mistaken for a central Pennsylvania woodlot. As a matter of fact, Joanna and I were on a hike this past weekend which took us past some very similar scenery. I had never heard of the term “Stick Season,” but it does a good job of describing this time of year. D

    Like

  5. Lyle Krahn says:

    Stick season is a new one for me! You certainly made the most of it in that first shot. I haven’t seen enough swirls.

    Like

  6. neihtn2012 says:

    Wonderful photos, and the first one is so striking!

    Like

  7. Great shot, loved that whirlpool ..well captured!

    Like

  8. Lottie Nevin says:

    Wow-sers! That’s really cool, I love this photo, Steve.

    Like

  9. quabbinite says:

    I could stare at both of these images all day; they’re hypnotizing! I like the foam, Steve. But I think that’s because you hit it just right with the monochrome. Oh and I do believe Amethyst Brook Falls suits this place well.

    Like

  10. Pingback: An ode to stick season | Welcome to Pairodox Farm

  11. shoreacres says:

    What do your swirl photo, Van Gogh’s “Starry Night,” and the search for the mathematical equation for turbulence have in common? Well, this. I love both photos, although I prefer the first. Maybe it’s because it reminds me of Van Gogh, and the second reminds me of a barrista in training. “Foam is hard, people!”

    Like

    • That was a great video/Ted piece. Thanks for linking it, Linda. I can follow your thinking with the connection with “Starry Night” but if the second is a barrista in training then there should be a foam image of Vincent in there.

      Like

  12. hahaha! Foamy abstract, I like that. Embrace the foam… Ommm…..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

