11.08.2014 Dawn Moon

Here is a quick drive by from Northeast Street in Amherst this morning.  The sky to the west was actually a bit more interesting not to mention the east was filled with contrails.

I was disappointed that there was a haze in the sky and especially around the moon although that haze was catching some nice color.   Probably the moon’s placement might have been more desirable a little more to the center which required waiting for it to set a bit more, but the neighbor’s dog across the road was not very happy with my visit and it was best to move on.

Northeast-Street-Dawn-Moon-1a-110814-700Web

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 11.08.2014 Dawn Moon

  1. Jim in IA says:

    I have never seen a dog that appreciated a beautiful moon scene. It is not in their personality. I’m glad you captured this for us to see.

    Like

  2. Faith says:

    Oh, how special is this pix! Love it!

    Like

  3. Andrew says:

    You are pretty good at drive by shootings, Steve

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Actually this is a beautiful scene. The tree and the moon reflected in the water makes this a lovely picture. Very nice even if the barking dog caused you a bit of a problem.

    Like

  5. Lottie Nevin says:

    I’m with Andrew. I miss so many good photo ops by always forgetting to take me camera out with me when I’m driving. Early morning is the most stunning part of the day at this time of year. Mists hang in the folds of the mountains and valleys, the light has a certain eeriness to it – clever you for being in the right place, at the right time AND with your camera 😀

    Like

  6. I can empathize with the motivation the canine preoccupation provided to move along. I was once photographing an old bus in a junk yard. There was a dog in the distant which I ignored, for its barks didn’t seem to be getting any closer. After a few minutes I heard a person’s voice, first talking and then shouting. I couldn’t hear what they were saying but, all of a sudden, I realized that the dog’s vocalizations were getting closer and closer, and louder and louder. I think I might have reached some sort of foot-powered-land-speed-record as I dashed back to the truck which was, thankfully, pretty close to where I had been standing! Whew. Didn’t Jim Croce have something to say about the demeanor of Junk Yard Dogs? Thanks for this pleasing image. You must have been up pretty early? D

    Like

    • Junk yard dogs are always maintaining their reputation. Not a one of them wants to be the one to pussyfoot around. Yeah, that was Jim Croce. A favorite of mine, Ry Cooder, has one about a police dog.
      originally done by Blind Blake I am generally comfortable with all dogs, but if a big one comes charging across the street, discretion is the better part and all that. 🙂 I’m glad that you won the race to your truck.

      With the clock shoved back an hour coupled with the late rise of the sun this time of the year, it is pretty easy getting out for these events. But I am always up pretty early…maybe even before some farmers 🙂

      Like

  7. shoreacres says:

    I really do like the illusion set up here. With the bare branches of the bushes added to the reflection in the water of the trees and moon, it not only seems as though those arms might be trying to entrap the moon, it also causes a double take: is that just a bush, or a reflection of something else in the sky invisible to our eyes?

    In my book, any photo that causes a double-take is a good one.

    Like

    • I am glad you found the image worth a double take, Linda. I was hoping to have the moon a bit more removed from the branches, but your take on the imagery has me a little more satisfied with the placement after all. 🙂

      Like

  8. You might not have wanted there to be a haze around the moon, but it has the fringe benefit (literally) of making the moon larger, both in the sky and in the water.

    Like

Leave a Reply

