11.03.2014 Amherst Art Walk on November 6, 2014

For any of my friends here on the blogosphere and in the Pioneer Valley, I will have several frames hanging at the Unitarian Universalist Church of Amherst this coming Thursday the 6th from 5-8 as part of the Amherst Art Walk.

UU Society of Amherst
121 North Pleasant St (On the corner of Kellogg Avenue)
Amherst, MA

This is one that will hang…..without the copyright, of course.

CooleyDick-Quabbin-Sunrise-Gate-5-041414-13-framedThere will be cookies. Β Β  πŸ™‚

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to 11.03.2014 Amherst Art Walk on November 6, 2014

  1. I’m not sure how it’s spelled .. but .. Wowee-Zowee! A real stunner … what else can I say other than ‘That’s a beautiful shot.’ Is there more to the connection to the UU Church other than it is simply where the show will be held? Oh my, just took another look … Wowee-Zowee. D

    Like

    • Well, I believe it is Wowie-Zowie…but if you are going to respond like that, who cares how you spell it. πŸ™‚
      Yes, Mary Beth is a member of the UU Society and is very active in the church. I am hoping her activity makes up for my total disinterest in almost anything related to religion. (I hope you don’t take that personally, Rod….you are an exception πŸ™‚ ) But it was a couple of members’ idea and they approached Mary Beth after I donated a print to a fund raising sale.

      BTW, here’s why I know how to spell it….

      Like

      • Just in case you misinterpreted….I know that was from you, David. But Rod might have taken it the wrong way……assuming he reads the comment to others.

        Like

      • No comment on The Mothers of Invention … they sound like something right out of the 60s? We know something of the UU Church from our time attending one in Indiana where we lived when the kids were very small. D

        Like

      • Yeah, when the Mothers first got going, Zappa did a lot of this ’50s type stuff before getting all improvisational. Not everyone is a fan.

        If I were to attend a church, it would be UU. I’ve nothing against most churches in general. However, people in general I am not too sure about. When on the net, I all too often make the mistake of reading comments made on political, non-Judeo-Christian religious or almost any topic that can provoke snark. OMG.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve seen it spelled both ways, and because the expression is slang or at best colloquial, I don’t think there’s a standardized spelling. The -ie follows the general pattern of diminutives, while the -ee is in line with an exclamation like yippee.

        Like

      • I think this may be Mary Beth’s favorite…aside from all the pictures of Murphy.

        Like

      • I can see why it would be a favorite.

        Like

    • We’re on the same wavelength, because that’s the expression that popped into my head before I scrolled down and saw your comment.

      Like

  2. Jim in IA says:

    I hope they are all well-received.

    (Check your title spelling :-))

    Like

  3. Just Rod says:

    Great photo and best wishes for a successful show.

    Like

  4. Best of luck, Steve! Wish I could be there…

    Like

  5. I loved this photo when it was initially posted. And I love it still. The colors alone should inspire some wayward soul who might happen to enter the church to view the art work/.walk. And that is no laughing matter.

    Like

  6. Very beautiful image Steve. Good luck at the show.

    Like

  7. Andrew says:

    It ought to be top of the art walk top 10, Steve. Unless of course there is a Murphy pic in there somewhere. Is Wowee-Zowee related to Zowie Bowie?

    Like

  8. shoreacres says:

    It’s a beautiful photo, with a bit of an edge. For a split second, I wondered: sunrise, or fire? I settled on sunrise, and got back to enjoying the photo. But it is amazing how similar the colors are to reflected light from the Houston Ship Channel under certain conditions, or a refinery fire.

    Like

    • Similar to a refinery fire…there’s some fine praise. πŸ™‚
      But I know what you mean, Linda. Some of the most interesting images I’ve seen have been landscapes with a forest fire in the distance…colorful at night and smoky during the day.

      Like

  9. Izudin says:

    Stopped by tonight to see your photos at the Unitarian Universalist Church. Great selection of photos on display.

    Like

Leave a Reply

