10.31.2014 Erratica

There are glacial erratics, so why not a stream erratic?  This is a shot from two years back at a favorite location in the Quabbin Watershed-Atherton Brook inside Gate 15 in Shutesbury.  Atherton-Brook-Cascade-with-erratic-042212-600WebI haven’t been back here this year so I am not sure if the rock is still balanced there or not.  Sounds like a good hike for the weekend some time.  With all the branches and chunks of ice that flow in the Spring one would imagine it received a bump or two at some point.

I hope the title didn’t cause anyone to send the children off to bed before opening this up.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Water, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 10.31.2014 Erratica

  1. Ah, now this is an unusual perspective indeed for a Gingold shot. Perhaps I am wrong, but you seem to have to preferences … either close in, or very far out. The former being your shots of animals and plants, while the latter represents your artistic landscapes. And, here you present us with a portrait from that no-man’s-land of ‘mid-range.’ I like it. I like it quite well. And, you have managed something which I, to this point, have not … and that is you’ve managed to hit the shutter speed just right. There’s enough movement to show MOVEMENT! I usually err on the side of blur, and usually way too much blur such that I end up with cotton candy. I have always liked the contrast afforded by such shots … the dynamic feel of the water, combined with the static nature of the stones. There’s nice movement from top-left, around the stone to the right and back to the left, which I like. Next time get your feet wet and add a few stones of your own to that subject to build a cairn. D

    Like

    • Oh, I have done a lot of medium range stuff, but more recently have gone for the larger vistas.
      For example: the top which is much larger than it looks… https://sggphoto.wordpress.com/2013/03/04/03-04-2013-two-more-ice-abstracts/
      and then there is: https://sggphoto.wordpress.com/2013/04/02/04-02-2013-owl-rock-cascade/
      and an oldie: https://sggphoto.wordpress.com/2011/05/22/05-21-2011-gate-15/
      and, not to get too carried away, the upper is one of my favorites: https://sggphoto.files.wordpress.com/2013/11/dean-brook-cascade-2-110213-800fb.jpg The bottom might look familiar.

      I am not much into cairns or creating arrangements. I did once put a rock under a cascade because it looked like the little idol that Indiana Jones stole in the first of the movies from within the cave at the beginning. But I rarely do that. I prefer to let Nature do the heavy lifting. 🙂

      Like

      • Nice assortment here … I especially liked the one of the bit of an island in the dense fog. So, I stand corrected, you excel at all ranges! There was a guy … whose name escapes me now … who pretty much specialized in nice, evocative, images of cairns ‘in situ,’ which I always thought were very nice. I tried my hand at it a few times but my constructions didn’t, somehow, seem thoughtful enough for my tastes. Photo-ops are pretty slim here today … very heavy cloud cover. And things don’t promise to be too great tomorrow either. D

        Like

      • I’ve nothing against them, David. Just don’t photograph them. I’ve seen some pretty cool ones that were taller then I am. One stream behind a factory near here and dozens of them
        And, I sit corrected here….I did shoot one once. It’s in my phone though, so I can’t link to it.

        We are in for two overcast days with tomorrow having a 50% chance of showers off and on. Not in the morning though, so I hope I can go for hike to my egg rock.

        Thanks for the compliment, but I’ve a lot of improvement to do before I am really worthy. You should see the crap I have to delete. 🙂

        Like

      • I liked your last line. I used to follow a guy by the name of Patrick Latter who claimed that his success ratio was 1:500 … I think he was exaggerating. I also shoot lots for a precious few. In the old days, when I was a kid, and shot Ektachrome, a friend of Joanna’s passed down an important rule of photography … the Rule of Thumb … which states that you should take lots and lots and lots of images … and put your thumb through most of them. D

        Like

      • Unfortunately, my variation of that rule was that my thumb was in most of them. 🙂

        So it sounds like you and Joanna have known each other since childhood? Very cool. I first met Mary Beth during a year off from college, but then there was a long period of further exploration due to immaturity and not being able to see the forest for the trees before we got together. All’s well that ends well, I guess.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. shoreacres says:

    This is great. It’s only 7 a.m. and I have a new word.I knew errata, and erratic, but I don’t remember coming up against erratica. Finally, I got it: your rock is a wanderer: from Latin errare: “wander, go astray,” figuratively “be in error.” When I looked at the etymology of err, I was pretty amused. My one consistent spelling error involves all kinds of words with double consonants. Maybe I’ll be able to keep from erring with erratica.

    But enough of that. The photo’s great. I especially like the way the egg-shaped rock and the more angular rocks to the left play off one another, and it’s interesting to see the different kinds of growth on the two surfaces. Clearly, the draped plants on the left (fern?) never would be able to gain a foothold on the rounded surface. Eggcellent capture!

    Like

    • I am chuffed to find that you found the image to be eggcellent, Linda. 🙂

      Both growths are mosses, although I do not know their IDs. I have just got myself a moss field guide, so in the future I hope to do better in that respect. Purchased one for lichens also. What may happen at times is that one more tenacious species is an early colonizer and is then followed by one which gains a foothold by way of clinging to the other.

      As far as the word goes, I more or less coined it in jest (although it does appear to be used by others in different ways). Kind of a combination of the glacial erratics and the slightly more salacious erotica. At one time, when house plants were my thing…at least more than they are today…I had a very large book for identification called “Exotica”
      http://www.amazon.com/Exotica-Pictorial-Cyclopedia-Exotic-Plants/dp/0911266151/ref=sr_1_5?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1414781655&sr=1-5&keywords=exotica+plants 1834 pages of mostly plant images. Almost as large as my copy of Webster’s Third New International Dictionary of the English Language. And then, of course, there is the other sound alike, none of which graces my bookshelves. When you mentioned the etymology of Err, my first thought was it’s now colloquial use as in “are you sure about that?’. 🙂

      Like

  3. Mark says:

    Love the balanced rock Steve.

    Haha on the title. If anything it tempted me to click. 🙂

    Like

  4. Andrew says:

    Very impressive Steve. The swirl around the rock is wonderful.

    Like

  5. Lyle Krahn says:

    We most definitely need to see the sequel to see if anything has changed on this great shot.

    Like

  6. Beautiful.Love the mossy rock that looks like a a large dome shaped egg, Erotica, erratica, exotic- it matters not

    Like

  7. Now that you’ve done erratica and exotica, can we expect to see you combine them and show us some erotica?

    Like

Leave a Reply

