10.26.2014 Dean Brook and The Tree

After that wonderful sunrise yesterday, I headed to a favorite place that has been here before-Dean Brook.  I’ve grown quite fond of this tree and wanted to capture a few monochromes featuring it.  I hope you like them.

Dean-Brook-and-Tree-1-102514-600Web

Dean-Brook-and-Tree-2-102514-600WebThat’s it from me…mum’s the word.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Water, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 10.26.2014 Dean Brook and The Tree

  1. Nice. Something about the monochrome gives the whole thing a very cold feeling. I’m guessing you were in somewhere between 50 and 60F today but this stark forest scene looks to be lots colder. Also … the brook was running nicely. Did you have significant rain recently?

    Like

    • It was cold…..of course, that is relative. But at this time of year I find 38° to be chilly. Today was a bit warmer but quite blustery and I made no photographs.
      Yes, we had a pretty good rain on Thursday and some drips on Friday.
      Some of the cold effect you see in this is my processing, I suppose. It is difficult to express warmth in B&W in the forest anyway, but the chill was an element.

      Like

  2. Very good work, Steve.

    Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    These do have a bit of a spooky feel to them. The juxtaposition of the smooth water and fragmented background reminds me of steam coming off a cauldron. On the other hand, the second one did make me smile. The combination of elements, the rock and the tree, look like a totem or carving — almost Easter Island-ish.. See the eyes and the lips of the face?

    Like

    • And the nose…don’t forget the nose, Linda.
      Not everyone likes the long exposure silkiness of water, but there are times when I enjoy it and this is one where it contrasts with a busy surround or often just a rock in the midst. I am glad it gave you a smile.

      Like

  4. Andrew says:

    This looks dark and brooding. Have you tried lifting the exposure a little Steve? I’d love to see more of the root structure.

    Like

  5. benrowef64 says:

    I like the darkness in the shots and the strong contrast, the long exposure in the water works well to balance the shots.

    Like

  6. Jim in IA says:

    The second picture presents a face, bold nose, and high pointing ears or horns. Maybe it is a helmet.

    Like

  7. I love your use of B & W, it really makes the detail pop and gives the image an edgy, artistic look.

    Like

  8. The water in the second photograph looks like it’s composed of delicate fibers.

    Like

  9. Dark and dramatic effect. Rather foreboding. Were you aiming for a Halloween spookiness? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

