10.22.2014 Gate 27 Shoreline at Sunrise

This is from the same spot and time as the Island image I posted a short time back.  Jim was curious as to what the water looked like without the long exposure and I did not do that image in a short one, so here is a 1/25 sec exposure done a bit earlier.  As much as I like the warm foliage and rocky shore, the fog in the background adds much to the image for me.Gate-27-Shoreline-at-Sunrise-101014-600WebHow does the sky’s color look to you?  When in Photoshop it is not quite as dark and saturated.  I know…I am complaining about WP again.  When I link it to Facebook it looks closer to what I expect.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Fall Foliage, Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 10.22.2014 Gate 27 Shoreline at Sunrise

  1. Andrew says:

    You are spoiling us now, Steve. The sky is a mid blue fading to pale as it meets the horizon. I’ll compare to FB.

    Like

    • Thanks, Andrew. This may be it for foliage this year. It is fading and we are due for heavy rain over the next few days with strong winds at times. Break out the rakes.
      Thanks for the sky assessment.

      Like

  2. The sky is perhaps a bit dark in the upper right but not a distraction. I find that achieving uniformity in a clear sky such at this, difficult – although I do not know why. Nice colors, and I do agree that the little bit of mist adds interest. Is the water level low? Indeed it looks as if the level of the water is a foot or perhaps two under its high mark? At least the small islands and the shore seem to show rings of that previously established high water line? Are you that dry? We both seem to have been complaining about wet weather but we here in PA haven’t really had any deluges to speak of since spring. One of two ponds on our property is fed by mountain springs and is always up … the other is mostly supplied by rain and it is down significantly. When Joanna and I were last traveling the Cape, we commented that the ground and foliage looked quite dry. What’s up? Yet another manifestation of climate change? D

    Like

    • Climate change? Climate change? 🙂

      Yes, we had a pretty dry summer and water levels are low…although today’s rain may change that situation. I think I may have mentioned in a past post that in some areas one can find the hollowed out fish nests along the shoreline because of the low levels. That probably also played a part in the short foliage season we had and the speed at which the colors faded.

      Like

      • Yes … I do remember mention of the nests, now that you remind me. Gee … that’s pretty darn dry. Let’s hope those aquifers are recharged before winter freeze. Up until last February (when we finally drilled a well) our domestic water supply was spring fed. Dry summers were always tough on showers and laundry. Let’s hope (for your sake) for a bit of wet weather to come. D

        Like

      • Through all the low rainfalls over the years, we’ve been fortunate to never have a water shortage. We never waste it regardless, but there hasn’t been concern for that in recent years.

        Like

  3. Jim in IA says:

    Thanks for the link to the comparison shot. As expected, the long exposure smoothes out the surface of the water. Do you get better color results, in your opinion, with longer exposures?

    The sky looks good to me. The upper right corner is slightly darkened. You didn’t use a polarizer, did you?

    Like

    • Yes, I do find richer color in some but not all instances, Jim. I did have a polarizer mounted but had it adjusted for no effect because I could see the unequal toning due to the sun’s angle. Maybe there was a slight effect in the corner.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Steve
    Great shot! Really captures the feel of that location. Alas, WP does have it’s limitations. I’m also looking at this image on a crappy lenovo laptop, I couldn’t possibly tell if the sky is too dark or not:) Everything has a blue color cast on this thing. I’ll look on a color managed monitor tonight and if doesn’t look OK make another comment. I’ll say though, from what I see, it doesn’t detract from the great image, reflections, mood. Just terrific.
    James

    Like

    • Thanks, James. Yeah, free social media is cool but has a few drawbacks. AFAIK, Firefox is the one web browser that offers a bit of color management, but that doesn’t help if the social media is all over the place.

      Like

  5. It’s just a beautiful scene and the sky is a nice blue. I’m not picky about color, unless it’s terribly “off.” You’ve written these can change when seen by various means.

    I don’t “do’ FB but am thinking of finally going there. I know that it has its pros and cons but lots of people prefer FB as opposed to commenting on a blog or writing an email. I find it all very strange. But that is modern day society!

    Like

    • Different strokes for different folks, Yvonne. You may or may not enjoy Facebook. I have several blog friends who spend little or no time there for a variety of reasons and others who spend lots.

      Thanks for the comments on the image. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s the best of two worlds: warm foliage and a bed of fog.

    Like

    • True enough, Steve. The low water levels also reveal some of the results from the excavations and alterations made for the creation of the reservoir. In places the water’s edge has all these small potato sized rocks and other places boulders or, in some, grassy mud.

      Like

Leave a Reply

