10.20.2014 Barn #28

This is a spot I have visited a few times over the years. I like this barn and the backdrop will do alright, I guess.    🙂

The field to the right was full of pumpkins that had been left behind and were not an example of fine pumpkinry.  But Bull Hill was looking pretty good although a few days past prime leaf peeping conditions.

So I have processed two images and leave it to you to choose a preferred format.  I know which I like better, but I am interested in popular opinion.  🙂Bull-Hill-Road-Barn-1-101914-600Web Bull-Hill-Road-Barn-2-101914-600WebObviously, I changed positions slightly as I shot these at different times with several others in between.  Both were with my 85mm f/1.8+CP, f/8, @1/13sec and the other at 1/8sec, ISO 100, tripod and remote.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Fall Foliage, Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 10.20.2014 Barn #28

  1. Just Rod says:

    I like them both, but for me the landscape (horizontal) view suits the shape of the barn better. But, there is something to be said for the contrast between the vertical format and the horizontal barn – you know I like crosses 🙂

    Like

    • I’m partial to the landscape format too, Rod. It seems a bit more natural with some width. I interpreted the portrait format as having a bit of tension, but it seems to offer you some comfort. 🙂

      Like

  2. What do you mean, ‘The backdrop will do … ‘? Bull Hill has done wonderful job … a beautiful backdrop in my opinion. Wouldn’t you like to know the history and why Bull Hill is Bull Hill? Our colors are very much like yours at the moment … waning a bit … but still pleasant. Very little blue sky and rain AGAIN for tomorrow. Put my vote in the landscape column. D

    Like

    • Now that you mention it, I guess I should research the name Bull Hill and find out. Maybe its shape reminded someone of a bull’s shape.
      We are due for rain until Friday starting this evening. Not steady the whole time…but it should charge the streams and give me some water opportunities this weekend.
      The field next to the barn was full of smashed punkins. I wonder if that’s where your competition landed.

      Like

  3. Keith Carver says:

    I like the landscape format slightly better – not sure why. Excellent, Steve!

    Like

  4. Dawn Vesey Puliafico says:

    Gorgeous! Landscape is my preference of the two.

    Like

  5. Jim in IA says:

    I like the first more.

    Like

  6. Well now it is not much of hard decision. fhe first view or the landscape scene, to be proper is extra special. I LOVE THIS PHOTO. I adore old barns and the backdrop is GORGEOUS. I’d love to see more like this.

    Like

  7. So sorry for the error. That is supposed to be -The first not “fhe.”

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lyle Krahn says:

    I liked your comment about the backdrop! I tried to think of a reason to be a contrarian but I got nothing so I’ll be boring and go with landscape too.

    Like

  9. Andrew says:

    Landscape, Steve. Don’t allow the Philistines to persuade you otherwise.

    Like

  10. shoreacres says:

    It’s a lovely scene. I’m not accustomed to seeing such long barns, and it seems to me the landscape view allows the ridge of the hills to emphasize the ridgepole of the barn. In contrast, the portrait view feels cramped to me.

    Like

    • Generally, tobacco barns are pretty long. I usually try to take images in both formats so I have something that can satisfy the different needs, but I agree with you that the portrait format is cramped and I will go one step further and say that it is even a bit awkward.

      Like

      • shoreacres says:

        A tobacco barn? Really? I thought tobacco was grown only in Tennessee or NC and SC or — well, not New England. I had assumed it was a hay barn. Live and learn.

        Like

      • The Connecticut River valley grows, or more like grew, cigar wrapper leaf tobacco. Many years ago there was a movie starring Troy Donahue called “Parrish” that had tobacco farming as a background and, I am pretty sure, was set and filmed in Connecticut….hopefully I am remembering that correctly.

        Like

Leave a Reply

