10.17.2014 Quabbin Hill Birches and Foliage

Early one cloudy morning, October 8th, I wandered around Quabbin Park looking for compositions.  While on Quabbin Hill, near the tower, I saw this red maple between two birches and decided to make an image.  I tried several different positions and actually found one that I liked better, but at that point the sky was entirely white which I just didn’t feel comfortable presenting.  I went back to an earlier spot and shot this with my rental Zeiss 21mm.  Maybe the birches could have been separated a bit more, but the angle required started to hide the maple.  So we’ll go with this one.

What attracted me the most was the light, the white on the birches, the illumination of the birch leaves facing the sun and the red of the maples.  The foreground ferns aren’t bad either.Quabbin-Hill-foliage-100814-600WebWhat little blue sky there was disappeared shortly after this shot.  And, again, WP is boosting the reds in this.  Grrrr

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Fall Foliage, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 10.17.2014 Quabbin Hill Birches and Foliage

  1. Steve you really know how to sniff out great scenery. Did you learn that from Murphy? You do know that Beagles are great sniffers. 🙂 I’m joking of course but this is a nice one. The larger tree looks stately and I actually like the enhanced reds of the pic;.

    Like

  2. The light hitting the white bark is lovely as are the reds, and orange foliage on the ground. It’s a lovely composition.

    Like

  3. Even subtracting a bit of saturation from the ferns, the natural color would still have been redder than I’m used to seeing in ferns. Is that what normally happens to them up there in the fall, or is something else responsible?

    Like

  4. Andrew says:

    The rich colours accentuate the autumnal feeling. The Birch is one of my favourite trees. I planted some at my last home. This comp works fine Steve.

    Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    I’m especially fond of the ferns in your photos, because they’re so different from what we have here. But the birches? I do love them. We had a pair in our front yard for a time. Dad finally cut them down before they fell down, but the trunks were cut into logs that served a variety of purposes, including decorating the fireplace grate during the summer months.

    When Mom moved from that house, the birch logs traveled along, first to Kansas CIty, then to Texas. Then, she tired of them and they moved in with me. Eventually, in a fit of decluttering, I thought they needed to go — but I peeled their bark first, and ended up with some birch-wrapped candles and a birch-wrapped wastebasket. It’s been 56 years since those birch trees were planted.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s quite a story of the family birches. It’s great that you still have some evidence of their existence in your home. When we bought our home in 1985, there was a wonderful clump of three birches in the front yard. We were very happy to have them and were quite sad when we discovered a bronze birch borer infestation as well as a disease whose name I no longer can recall. We did not save any of it and couldn’t even burn it as we did not want either the borers or the disease in the house. When our driveway was replaced, the excavators also dug up the stump and filled the hole with nice rich loam which is now the host for peonies and other flowers.

      Like

Leave a Reply

