10.11.2014 Carter Pond Rocks

Today was my second visit to Carter Pond which is within the Rock House Reservation that is a property maintained by The Trustees of Reservations and located in West Brookfield, MA.  I posted a few from here back in 2011.  Today was overcast with a light drizzle giving the pond a more subdued light than the warm sunrise of yesterday at Quabbin.

I was tempted to just stay home and keep at it with the new computer, but the foliage is not here for long so any time spent out enjoying it and making a few images is time well spent.  And, in an area like this that is surrounded by tall trees, the light is more even and balanced on a day like today.  I just had to try to keep the sky out of the image as it was white and quite distracting.

I find these rocks quite interesting.  The pine tree is growing on the backside of the left rock and who knows how successful it will be, but I have seen some trees grow a long root that goes down ledges to the ground so who knows.  It may outlast me.Carter-Pond-Rocks-and-Foliage-101114-600WebI also explored the rocks that give this property its name (which was a challenge for a claustrophobic like me…think something akin to a slot canyon), but haven’t got a handle yet on how I wish to photograph it.  One day soon, though.  This link will give you an idea.  See the 3rd and 4th pictures down.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Central Massachusetts, Fall Foliage, Landscape, Nature Photography, Trustees of Reservations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 10.11.2014 Carter Pond Rocks

  1. Lyle Krahn says:

    I quite like those rocks and trees.

    Like

  2. Gorgeous photo, what a wonderful spot to share. I am really a shapes and texture person so I absolutely love the detail in your photo.

    Like

  3. The rocks really rock tjhe photo with the reflections in the water. beautiful. I reckon the new computer is sort of like a new toy or not?

    Like

  4. Jim in IA says:

    I like the rocks and the peaceful smooth water surface. It gives them an eerie floating quality.

    Here is another rocky picture. It is Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko being visited by the European Space Agency vehicle Rosetta. It will deploy a washing machine sized lander on Nov.12 to study the comet as it rounds the sun next year. I like the way these boulders and rocks hang on to the comet body. It is only a few miles across. You could jump hard and escape the comet. http://sci.esa.int/science-e-media/img/a7/Rosetta_NAVCAM_comet_67P_Site-J_20140921.jpeg

    Like

    • Do you think the comet has it’s own gravity? Or maybe the rock has just eroded around some stone that is harder but remains part of the surface? It is hard to imagine that, even without an atmosphere to hold it down by motion or conversely to blow them off, that the rocks would resist falling. I guess lack of an atmosphere would rule out erosion. As I mentioned to David, I am not a neural scientist and here I will also admit that I am not a rocket scientist. 🙂

      Like

      • Jim in IA says:

        Yes, the comet has gravity, whether there is atmosphere or not. All masses have gravity. The bigger the mass, the more the pull of gravity on other masses.

        Earth is a VERY large mass. It pulls on our small mass to give us weight we feel. If you stood on that comet, its relatively small mass would pull you very gently toward it. You would feel very little weight.

        The Rosetta lander will have anchor screws to hold itself down to the surface securely.

        Like

  5. Andrew says:

    Yes, it does rock. That’s a fine rockscape Steve. Better than playing with Pug.

    Like

  6. I think you’ve done an excellent job of making the best of a not-so-great photographic situation. Beautiful, fall, shot. My eyes opened a bit more widely at reading ‘West Brookfield,’ for we have family there. Small world. I eagerly await your trip back to those slot canyons … you’ll find a way to capture the feeling of being swallowed by one! D

    Like

    • When you visit, we can meet at Rock House. As my fear of closed in places would dictate, I am less worried about being swallowed and more about being crunched. A couple of the larger parts seem less stable than others.
      Although a little rain is not to be wished for, it does lend some nice atmosphere and the colors are a bit richer as well. The lack of a breeze or wind was the real bonus.

      Like

      • Your reference reminds me of an anecdote from yesterday. Joanna and I were driving and I mentioned that I was envious of all the ‘quite’ water that you manage to include in many of your images … lending, especially this time of year, to colorful reflections and such. I said that I never seem to be able to find water that is really mirror smooth and quiet … and it was one of my frustrations. She observed, ‘You’re looking along streams and rivers … AND THEY’RE ALWAYS MOVING. They’re NEVER, EVER, going to be smooth as Steve’s pond surfaces.’ Gee, I thought to myself, she was right! D

        Like

      • Right on, Joanna.

        Like

  7. shoreacres says:

    I’m especially fond of the way the tree on shore cants to the left, and the left rock of the pair slopes right. It’s as thought the “V” they form is a marker saying, “Enter here, for great explorations.”

    Like

  8. Pingback: 10.15.2015 Carter Pond Rocks | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

