10.06.2014 North Dana

One of the four towns that were flooded to create Quabbin Reservoir and supply Boston and vicinity was Dana.  This area, which is inside Gate 37, is North Dana although there is little to indicate that people once lived here.  I haven’t explored this area very much, but the little I have seen has no cellar holes or stone walls.  There must be some so maybe I just haven’t walked in the right places.

This morning was quite foggy again.  By the time I walked in, most of the fog was dissipating, but there was still enough to give some muting effect to the bright sun that was just peeking above the tree line to the east.  I wanted to line up the foliage so there was a contrast between the stronger and foggy colors but there was this rock.  I decided to have it out of the reflected shadow and try to use it as a foreground element.  It is kind of obvious that this was intentional, but it had to go somewhere and it was too big for me to lift it out of there….not to mention that the DCR frowns on us wading.

North-Dana-view-100614-600WebFor a change, I shot this with a prime.  Canon 5D Mark II, Canon 85mm, B+W Circular Polarizer, f/16@1/10 sec, ISO 100 upon a Gitzo GT3542XLS Tripod with a Kirk BH-1 ballhead, remote switch.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Fall Foliage, Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 10.06.2014 North Dana

  1. That’s a good position for the rock because it lies (approximately) on the diagonal created by the prominent trees in the upper right.

    The only prime lens I have (in addition to the 100mm macro) is Canon’s venerable 50mm f/1.4, which I rarely use, but which comes in handy every now and then.

    Like

    • It is also on the one third cross-hair.

      I do have other primes…the 100, like you, the 180 and the 300 as well as a 14mm Samyang. But the majority of my shooting, other than the macros, is done with the 17-40, 24-70 and 70-200.

      Like

  2. Nice, very, very nice. I’ve not kept good track … is that three or four beauties in a row now? Anyway … I am again envious. This morning, while doing chores, the bright sun illuminated our distant tree line (probably just about the same time you were getting your shot) … I ran to get the camera. I kid you not … just as I exited the back door the wondrous, saturated, colors totally disappeared … not to reappear all day. And now, the storm clouds are rolling in to bring the rain you are expecting tomorrow. That’s it … I’M MOVING! D

    Like

    • Only three or four? Bummer. 🙂

      I have experienced your frustration often enough, David. Sometimes I misread the sky, thinking it is nothing to get excited about, only to notice as I leave the house later that something epic is taking place. However, after your experience on the Cape I imagine it was doubly disappointing.

      Come on up. I haven’t seen too many farms for sale lately which, when you think about it, is surprising as so many were on the market not too long ago. What I do see a lot of though are small parcels of farmland being sold. Possibly to bolster sagging sales with a real estate reduction.

      Like

      • It’s a very long story Steve … the short version is that I am thinking of leaving higher education for something less stressful and have just begun looking seriously. Our daughter is in New Hampshire so we have been looking there. Thanks for the invite though! I’m eagerly awaiting the arrival of YOUR computer! D

        Like

      • And once again I must stay near the house, waiting for FedEx, and may only go out for a short spell if it is not raining. 🙂 Plenty to do though. While Mary Beth is away, rather than play this cat must embellish the print portfolio for a drag around WMass trying to interest a gallery or two. Not a very good rhyme, but also less trouble-making.
        I can understand wishing to leave education on most levels. At least from the outside it just seems under-appreciated and overly demanding. Parents expect the world of teachers and take no responsibility when there is a failure.

        Like

      • So … you’ve opened a whole new can-o-worms .. the business side of this hobby of ours. Sometime I’ll have to bend your ear about how fruitful your labors have been. Now that I’m thinking of leaving the security of academia, perhaps my photography can kick in a bit to help pay the bills? D

        Like

      • We all think that just before we get our feet wet. It’s sort of like the numbers of kids who play a sport and the very very few who make it to the big time…or any other undertaking. The competition is fierce and the money that is out there is diminishing on a daily basis. Not many people are willing to buy our prints as they can do it themselves now. :mrgreen:

        Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    Honestly, I think that rock makes the photo. The trees are lovely, yes. But the rock is just vaguely mysterious, a bit indecipherable. Is it menacing? A bit, perhaps, especially for someone who sees alligators everywhere. Even as just a rock, it seems to set up a dialogue between itself and the trees, and brings a certain dynamism to the photo. All of this is to say, I really like the photo, and I’m glad the rock’s there.

    I also like it when you and Steve S. add the technical stuff. I just got a new camera last week, and while I didn’t go full DSLR this time, I’ve got one that’s going to allow me to begin doing something more than just point and shoot. Duplicating others’ settings is a good way to begin learning how to use the controls, and looking up unfamiliar terms (e.g., “prime lens”) lets me start putting the pieces together. It’s fun!

    Like

    • I am really happy to hear your thoughts on the rock, Linda. I liked it, but often hear feedback that is less than accepting of something like that in the foreground. I try to find interesting subjects as a forward element and something to draw viewers into the frame.
      I won’t be posting the techs for every image here, but once in a while it seems like a worthwhile addition. Plus someone I am helping improve her photography looks in and I hope it is of use to her. I don’t have answers to all questions, but if you have any feel free to ask either here or in an email.

      Like

  4. The photo here is just my cup of tea and I really like that you are including camera and lens info. It just adds to the interest. And you are right about people buying/not buying prints. If anyone can get a so-so rendition of something they’ve seen, then yes, they’ll “do their own.”

    Like

  5. Andrew says:

    Some interesting discussion here, not least on leaving education (which my father opted to do, too late in my view). My tack is to buy photos as inspiration. I look at them in an aspirational sense too. Often the light is critical and you can’t guarantee that you can replicate the shooting conditions. Good luck, Steve.

    Like

  6. I love the quiet solitude you captured in your fall scene…The colors are exceptional, the stillness of the lake really centers you.

    Like

  7. Jim in IA says:

    Will you be out early to try seeing the lunar eclipse Wednesday morning? It will be low in the west for you. I am expecting nearly clear skies in IA.

    Like

    • I hope to, Jim. The forecast is not eclipse friendly, I am afraid. But it called for rain overnight which has not materialized to this point today. If there is any possibility then I shall. I know exactly where I will go
      But should that fail, I will be waiting for some images from you.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Best wishes on your round of galleries, Steve. I really like the rock. I think it grounds the image very nicely. They don’t let you wade? Bummer.

    Like

    • Thanks, Melissa. Nope, no wading for a few reasons. It is drinking water, but you can argue that point by what the moose and deer and loons and geese etc. do while in the water. As well, you would think that our feet just add whatever is on the shore to the water. The more potent reason is the introduction of invasive species like certain mollusks whose eggs sometimes travel on the bottoms of boots and boats. The DCR is quite concerned about that.
      And, of course, there is always the problem with people not wishing to get out of the water when they need to, well, you know. :mrgreen:

      Like

Leave a Reply

