09.29.2014 Day of the Gentian

I have a hard time leaving the house in the afternoon.  Yard work to do or even a football game to watch.  Since the Patriots are playing tonight, that made it a little easier.  But basically, the momentum was my desire to photograph a Greater Fringed Gentian (Gentianopsis crinita formerly Gentiana crinita) with the petal spread a bit.  Despite arriving at 3:30 the sun was already sinking below the tree line and most of the blooms were closing shop for the day.  I found this one among the many.  It would have been ideal if all the petals were overlapping nicely, but I’m not complaining.

As was the case the other day, the background color is provided by dying plants…..again, I am not complaining.  🙂Fringed-Gentian-2-092814-600WebAnd a peek inside.Fringed-Gentian-1-092814-600WebFor those of you who follow the “rules”, it’s a no-no to have the stem in the corner.    😉

Oops!!! In my excitement at this post, I forgot a title, so you just got the date in your email notice.  My bad.  :mrgreen:

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Closeup Photography, Flora, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 09.29.2014 Day of the Gentian

  1. Andrew says:

    I don’t follow the rules. It’s also a very silly rule. These are astonishingly sharp and they ‘pop’ majestically. I’d miss a game of football for a shot or two like these.

    Like

  2. Faith says:

    Lovely!

    Like

  3. I’ve been waiting all day for this … and it was worth it … this is really a beauty. And, all due to your patience and perseverance. I should note that if the farm hadn’t ultimately been called Pairodox, it would have been Patience and Perseverance! Now that you’ve bagged the Gentian, is that it? Or will you pursue more trophy shots of this species? I hope you will. D

    Like

    • I am glad that it met up with your expectation and anticipation, David. 🙂

      I may give it another go, but the season for them is winding down. I would love a full fresh stem without any spent blooms, which would have required my finding them at least a week earlier, so will definitely shoot them again next year.

      Like

  4. Jim in IA says:

    Success! What a beautiful flower.

    I didn’t know of the ‘rule’ about stems. Is there a source for that? I wonder what other ‘rules’ I’m breaking.

    I hope you enjoy your game.

    Like

    • I have never actually read the rule, Jim. But when I took part in a critique forum I would hear it quite often. The whole idea of rules is just a starting point. Every image requires its own treatment. And, as Edward Weston said, “composition is the strongest way of seeing.”

      Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    Oh, rules. Whatever. I like the stem in the corner, and I really like the flower. It was worth waiting for, without peeking!

    I thought it would look more like our fringed puccoon, but it’s fringier. And I’m especially taken with the second photo. The veins on the inside look like trees, branching until they reach the edge of the petal. Seen from that perspective, the fringe isn’t just something added on, it’s a natural extension.

    I was surprised by some of deep blue ones I saw in other photos. They had the same scientific name. Is that an error, or is there great color variation among them?

    Like

    • Rules be rules. Sometimes they fit, sometimes not. I am happy that you waited and enjoyed the flower.
      Yes, they are a little variable but, for the most part, it is the light rather than any pigment in the petals that determines the color differences. Had I not shaded the flower, I am sure it would have been lighter in color. And, not seeing the other that you saw, it depends on the person processing the image. Some folks like to heavily saturate or use different white balances which can alter things greatly.

      Like

  6. My oh my. What a beautiful flower. I really enjoyed seeing this one which is a first for me. I’m so glad that you were able to find this one. Aren’t rules made to be broken. I think it is a stupid rule anyhow and I don;t care what the judges say.

    Like

  7. I saw a guy in Phoenix yesterday who wore ritual fringes, but your gentian is much prettier and fringier (yes, WordPress, that’s fringier, as in more fringy). The color you got the dying plants to provide serves as an excellent complement to the violet color of the gentian. How nice.

    Like you, I’ve heard people put forth a rule against having a stem (or similar structure) in the corner of a photograph, but I don’t know why that’s supposed to be bad.

    Like

    • I was indeed fortunate with the background. It helps that these bloom at season’s end so there is a greater chance for a warm backer. In the early spring pine needles perform the same function.
      Yeah, I am not sure why it is bad either. But I have heard it from a few sources in different fora, so I consider it a rule….to be broken.

      Like

  8. Now that was worth waiting for! And I waited longer than the rest, as I am way behind in my reading… 🙂 You really got the fringey part to look fringey, and the veins are so clear. And the background colors~ wonderful. Now about breaking the rules…

    Like

Leave a Reply

