09.26.2014 And now for something completely different

Here is another from a few weeks back, but a little less usual than my regular endeavors.  It is ok in color, but I prefer the tonal effects in monochrome.Moosehorn-Pond-stump-082314-600WebWhat do you see here….besides the tree stump?

Have a great weekend everyone.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Black and White, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to 09.26.2014 And now for something completely different

  1. quabbinite says:

    I see a submerged tree stump.

    Like

  2. quabbinite says:

    Ah……it’s a turtle 🙂

    Like

  3. Lyle Krahn says:

    I’m not usually a fan of b&w but this one caught my eye

    Like

  4. drawandshoot says:

    That’s very interesting, Steve. I think it might be a scarecrow lying on its back in the water. Probably trying to scare off those pesky Canada Geese!

    Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    It’s a pirogue filled with sugar cane stalks being pulled by alligators.

    Like

  6. Jim in IA says:

    The snout of a croc festooned with a goofy hat.

    Like

  7. Looks like a turtle but I have to be honest. Everything looks fuzzy so I assume that is how you wanted the pic to appear. The rest of it looks like tree roots that are partially submerged but I can not tell what the thinghy is that is next to the turtle. A tree stump perhaps- not sure.

    Like

  8. I don’t see no turtle! Anyway … hide-n-seek aside … this is a really nice shot Steve. And I do agree that the desaturation works very nicely indeed. I assume the exposure what somewhat lengthy, and that’s why the trees in the back are blurred … if this is so, why weren’t the tufts of grass moving as well? Nice, nice shot. D

    Like

    • The upper part of the left most root seems turtlish, David. Actually the exposure was not long….less than a second which is why the grass Isn’t blurred. I waited for the light breeze to let up but there was enough residual motion for the water to be blurry. It’s all a reflection in the background. Thanks.

      Like

  9. Faith says:

    Hi Steve – I see a partially submerged tree trunk with under water root system, a large bullfrog in front of a turtle. Can’t make out other objects. Are you going to enlighten us?

    Like

  10. benrowef64 says:

    I can see a wooden octopus swimming around.

    Like

  11. Oh, Ben beat me to the octopus! My first thought (my bleary early morning eyes) thought underwater fireworks shooting off. This is a wonderful black and white shot.

    Like

    • Thanks, Melissa. Underwater fireworks. Now that is a unique vision.

      Well, aside from the turtle and octopus, I also see a person in the tub, albeit with a few extra limbs. Possibly even Beaker, although that idea was shot down pretty quickly elsewhere. 🙂

      Like

  12. Love your use of black & white photography…the photo is quite exceptional.

    Like

Leave a Reply

