09.25.2014 Butter and Eggs

Mmmmm…sounds like a delightful start to the day and it was.  To be clear, I had my usual bowl of sticks and twigs with fruit and milk, a glass of OJ and a handful of supplements.  The Butter and Eggs followed a bit later.

I guess that’s about enough silliness..  I am talking about one of my favorite wildflowers.  Linaria vulgaris is a late summer blooming member of the Plantaginaceae family which, as you may guess by looking at the image below, holds the snapdragons as well.  It is always an exciting time for me when I start to see them along roadsides and other less than lush fertile areas where it is considered a non-native invasive.  Invasive or not, I am always pleased to find these.

One from this past August that I neglected to share back then.

Butter-and-Eggs-080914-600WebAnd one from last year.Butter-and-Eggs-090813-800WebI like this one although I obviously missed a bit of the upper bloom.

And, for anyone interested, here is the system I have on order with Puget Systems.  Based on my experience with them so far, and the recommendations of several online friends, I think I am going to be pleased.  Everything is hand built with quality components, one at a time, and the unit is tested extensively before shipping.  If it is hard to read, click it for a better look as is the case for the other images as well.Puget-System

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 09.25.2014 Butter and Eggs

  1. I laughed at the description of your breakfast … I refer to Joanna’s as ‘horse food.’ Sometime akin to Garrison Keillor’s oat hulls and wheat chaff – good for the colon! Nice shot … a beautiful pastels of yellow and orange. Congratulations on the new PC. As my mother would say, ‘Use it in good health.’ You implied, elsewhere, that you edit using multiple screens? Why, if you’ve got a monitor that’s 30″ wide? D

    Like

    • I want the entire screen for my image. Bigger is better, David. 🙂

      That has been my breakfast for about ten years. Or I should say, my warm weather breakfast. My cold weather meal is a concoction with the base being oatmeal and several additions (milled flax seed, cinnamon, wheat bran) besides the fruit and milk. OJ is a constant.

      Like

  2. The second pic I find really gorgeous. The background color compiments the flower. There are butter and eggs wildflowers here but I’m not sure if these are the same as yours.

    Your hand crafted PC sounds great. I had not idea any such as that is availabe in the US. And it has lifetime tech support. That is one of the best features for sure- as far as I’m concerned-well aong with all the deatires really.

    Like

  3. Jim in IA says:

    I can see why you like that flower.

    You will also like the new computer setup. It will take a long time to get everything just so on the new one. It always has for me.

    Like

  4. Only you could make butter and eggs look like the rarest of orchids! These shots are gorgeous, both of them. I am wishing for a bigger screen now 🙂
    Hopefully you will find set-up more entertaining than spinning cursors. My son calls them pinwheels of death, which goes nicely with BSOD nicely, I think.

    Like

  5. Andrew says:

    Fabulous flowers Steve. I don’t understand computers, dead or alive but I hope you’ll be very happy together. I think I need lifetime support too. Would they help me?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lottie Nevin says:

    In the UK, young Hawthorn leaves are referred to as Bread and Cheese. I think it’s a defunct term now but certainly in ‘the olden days’ that was its name. Your new computer sounds well snazzy! Have a great weekend, Steve 😀

    Like

  7. Just Rod says:

    The light on that first image is really wonderful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

