09.22.2014 Monadnock and North Quabbin

Or maybe it should be the other way.  Either way, this was a surprise this morning and I almost missed it.  When I arrived the sky was already fading and the sun had just popped over the horizon.  Not a very spectacular display and I did not take out the kit.  As I drove in, there was a chicken running around.  A woman, who turned out to be the New Salem dog officer, was also there with her camera and I thought it was her pet…..the chicken, that is.  Not so, said she.  It had just climbed up the hill from the woods below and she tried to catch it but could not.  I was amazed it made it through the woods full of foxes and coyotes…..and most likely a bobcat and fisher or two…..unscathed.

As we spoke, I noticed the color building over Monadnock and got the camera out with the 70-200 and captured a few frames of the view to the north.  I hope you like it.Monadnock-and-North-Quabbin-092214-600WebI cropped a bit from the left as there is a big white house that I wanted to eliminate.

I have no idea what became of the chicken.  It did not wish to be caught so we left it to its own whims.  It seemed to know enough to not venture towards the traffic and when I drove by later on I saw no feathers in the road.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 09.22.2014 Monadnock and North Quabbin

  1. Just Rod says:

    That’s a scene that would make a nice quilt. Its a splendid view Steve. I didn’t know Salem chased dogs as well as witches and the odd chicken.

    Like

  2. Andrew says:

    Patience handsomely rewarded Steve. The question remains : why did the chicken cross the road?

    Like

    • He didn’t Andrew…or at least if he did there were no feathers as evidence. Surprisingly, a local friend told me on Facebook that there are free range chickens running around New Salem. It is quite rural there so I would imagine they are attracting free range coyotes, foxes and owls

      Coyotes, foxes and owls Oh My!

      Like

  3. Faith says:

    Waited all day, Steve, to see what beauty you would unfold today. Very serene :& lovely!

    Like

  4. Nice shot. The soft, graded, pastels convey a sense of peace and tranquility. Given your story about the chicken, I must conclude that all was not well in the immediate area! I just took another look at this image and noticed the highlights right in the middle … giving depth to the scene. Nice. I was not so lucky as I was without the camera when our storm clouds gave it up allowing some nice shafts of illumination through … quite dramatic. But, alas … can’t make no photos without the dang camera! D

    Like

  5. Beautiful scenery The subtle colors of early morning provide a sense of peace and harmony to this scene. A lovely capture of the hills/mountains. I’m not sure what these are supposed to be called..

    Like

    • Thanks, Yvonne. Both fit. The distant peak is Mount Monadnock in New Hampshire. The middle one on the left is Harris Hill and the one half cut off on the right is Rattlesnake Hill. The intermediates I am not sure about. I am sure they are called hills though.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Lottie Nevin says:

    What glorious countryside, no wonder the chicken wishes to roam free! I love the light in this picture, Steve. Funnily enough Pete and I have been noticing the change in light over here. This morning, the Sierra Nevada mountains were as clear as can be. The early morning glow seemed to accentuate everything and the colours and contrasts where perfect. I wish that I’d taken my camera with me but I’m not sure that my lens would be able to capture the distance. Ah, never mind, I’ve got your beautiful pictures to admire 😀

    Like

    • Most of our mornings this summer have had a misty quality which is pleasant enough, but all too often the sky, or at least the horizon, has also been overcast leaving me pining for a sunrise. But as autumn approaches the air does get crisp and more clear and clean.

      Like

  7. This is so lovely…that soft pastel sky is gorgeous.

    Like

  8. shoreacres says:

    The light is beautiful, but for a flatlander, the layers and layers of mountains is the real appeal. They draw the eye farther and farther into the view. Just gorgeous. (And yes: mountains. You’re free to call them hills, but to my eye, those are mountains. Perspective may not be everything, but it’s a lot.)

    Like

    • OK, from now on I will unapologetically call them mountains. Those overlapping mountains and valleys are the main reason I return here as often as I do. Although there is a great view of the rising sun from here, it is the view northward that is the real draw for me. I love the pockets of ground fog in those valleys.

      Like

  9. I forget how much I miss mountains until I see your photos~ my heart leaps every single time. This shot is lovely. Happy sigh. So glad you are willing to get up for those morning shots! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

