09.21.2014 The View from Barre Falls Dam

And so it begins.  Autumn officially arrives on Tuesday, but we are getting some preliminary action.

More of yesterday today, although not quite as cloudy, but just as dim light.  This never would have happened were it not for the Royal Fern in the foreground with its wonderful autumn hues.  Barre Falls Dam is an hour’s drive and is quite a nice recreation area.  The West Branch of the Ware River runs through the dam and the property includes bits of the towns of Barre, Hubbardston, Oakham and Rutland, MA.

West-Branch-of-the-Ware-River-from-Barre-Falls-Dam-092114-600WebOne more day of my four day weekend.  Tomorrow promises some better weather….we’ll see.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Central Massachusetts, Landscape, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 09.21.2014 The View from Barre Falls Dam

  1. I believe that you and I probably both remember that cigarette slogan, “I’d walk a mile for a Camel.” You’d do that one better for a chance to capture some nice images. An hour’s drive on an overcast day … you’re a real photographer and, in comparison, I’m just one of those fair-weather-types! Actually, I’m working on a post right now that tells about wading into a tributary creek of the Susquehanna, well beyond my waist (and just below the lowest point of my camera pack), for a few photos this morning. Perhaps we’re both just nuts? D

    Like

    • I do remember it, but I would guess that neither of us would make that walk.

      Even more nuts is that I was crazy enough that I actually did that drive in hopes of finding the Fringed Gentian as someone had told me they might be there. They weren’t….again, at least not where I looked. This was my consolation prize.

      I hope you were wearing waders, David. I’ve been in pretty deep, but I won’t wear my pack when I do that. If I went over that would be the end of my story. I’ll be looking forward to your post.

      Like

      • No, I didn’t have waders. I have often thought they would make a good addition to my stuff. You know, at just about the point-of-no-return on my little walk, I thought about slipping on the rocks and how quickly water would get into my pack! There’s just something about needing to get to just the right vantage that makes me do really senseless things. What was weird was that I chose my route ‘in’ very carefully and I had a very hard time finding it again on the way ‘out.’ Really did think I was going to have to swim! And, you know, I could have reached my vantage via an inland route … but, it would have taken a half hour! Dumb rationale for doing something even more stupid! Ah well. All’s well that ends well. D

        Like

      • Why go the long way around, eh? As far as waders go, even they have their drawbacks… take a wrong step and they turn into an anchor. I am finally at the point in life where those risks no longer appeal at all. I’ve done some pretty insane things and have my lack of youthful limberness to thank for wising up. Just below knee deep is the new limit.

        Like

  2. I like this photo very much,. Looks ‘fallish” with the Royal Fern’s colors and the fog or haze in the background. Very nice. I love ferns of any kind. Do people grow those in their yard? No, I don’t want to grow any of those here. Probably requires “wet feet” and northern climate.

    Like

  3. Lottie Nevin says:

    Beautiful and very autumnal. One of the things that I love most about living out in the countryside again, is the physicality of the seasonal changes. It’s subtle and palpable. ‘Now you see it, now you don’t’. In the space of two weeks both the light and the temperature have noticeably changed, here. Even the birdsong is different. You will understand this being that you spend so much time outside, observing and photographing it. Have you had any more frosts?

    Like

    • I don’t believe I could live happily in other than a rural environment, Lottie. Ours is a bit developed but retains enough natural elements to have the rural flavor although I have to travel a few miles for pastoral.
      Thankfully no, we haven’t had another frost yet. It’s warmed up just a bit which is more seasonal. I am sure that frost will be a regular visitor within a few weeks.
      I am glad to hear that it is cooling a bit. My friends are waliking the Camino and the heat was causing them distress.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lottie Nevin says:

        Oh yes, the Camino – gosh, time flies! It should be lovely weather for their walk now. We’ve just had a thunderstorm here and torrential rain for an hour – bliss! I love cities, but I’m never happier than when I have mud on my feet – I’m a country girl at heart, this is where I feel happiest. Plenty of time for cold weather and frosts, let’s enjoy autumn. Looking forward to more of your stunning photographs celebrating the changing season 😀

        Like

      • Their report last week said it was like July. But now they are off again so it must have moderated some.
        Funny thing…I noticed that you often like my comments, which shows your good taste. 🙂
        But I have no “Like” button anywhere to like yours. Not sure why WP doesn’t show me that when others see it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Just Rod says:

        Steve, I think the like a comment button shows upon email notices and in reader but not on the actual blog…who knows the minds of programmers.

        Like

  4. Just Rod says:

    Lovely image again Steve. It’s definitely fall here – we were coming back from the cabin yesterday and the colours were absolutely stunning. Of course I was the more stunned when I had left my cameras at home!.
    Its only an hour and a half to the cabin – but coming back within half an hour’s drive the trees hadn’t yet turned, and I only drive at 100kph (60mph).

    Today we are in the mid twenties (C) 80 (F) so it s a real bonus time.

    Like

  5. Nice image Steve. I love that location. You choose an excellent framing. I think the overcast really works, particularly in the fall.
    James

    Like

  6. Faith says:

    Beautiful Steve!

    Like

  7. Mark says:

    I really like the warm textures in this Steve. Fall is here!

    Like

  8. shoreacres says:

    Regarding those comment likes: if you go to Dashboard/Settings/Sharing, you’ll find a box near the bottom where you can turn on comment likes for your blog itself. Otherwise, they don’t show up, except on mobile devices and in the reader. Maybe other places, too. I don’t have likes enabled on my blog, but I still get some from folks I assume are reading on phones, tablets, etc.

    I’m sure you’ve said it somewhere – is this photo taken at the same place as your header photo? They make such a nice pair, both in terms of color and in terms of the horizontal/vertical contrast. I can almost smell that autumnish water. And the ferns are beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cool. Thanks for the information, Linda. The like buttons are now functional as well as I am now linked to Facebook and Google+…whoopie. 😎

      No this is not the same location as my header, which is from Harvard Pond in Petersham.

      Like

Leave a Reply

