09.08.2014 Arachnophobes beware!

Personally, and I hope a few of you agree, I think this is a gorgeous spider.  When I first saw this Marbled Orbweaver (Araneus marmoreus), I thought there were some dead blooms on this Showy Goldenrod (Solidago speciaosa) flower as I photographed it from a distance.  Upon closer inspection I received a great surprise.  Some of you may not think so but I got pretty excited.  They are not rare, but he was a first for me and is beautiful.  My next post will not be as scary…promise. 🙂

You can’t really see it at this size, which is already a bit of a crop, but his cephalothorax is very reflective and one can see the surrounding trees and plants.

Marbled-Orbweaver-on-Showy-Goldenrod-090814-600Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Insects, Nature Photography, Trustees of Reservations, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 09.08.2014 Arachnophobes beware!

  1. Lottie Nevin says:

    Goodness me! Incy’s forearms are fantastic. They are mighty chunky, he’s clearly been working out in the water spout. He’s a splendidly handsome beastie, Steve. Are you out later to catch a glimpse of the moon? 🙂 Buenos notches from Andalucia

    Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    What a handsome one he is. I don’t remember ever seeing colors like that on a spider – they’re attractive.

    What really caught me is that zig-zag pattern on his back. It looks for all the world like the pattern woven into this argiope aurantia’s web, which Steve said is called stabilimentum. That’s really curious. I wonder if there’s something special about that pattern in the orb weaver world.

    Like

    • The pattern is what caught my eye too, Linda….once I realized I was looking at a spider. I am not sure about its meaning, but in many animals the patterns are used for display in attracting a mate or expressing dominance over a rival. Whether that is the case in spiders I do not know. With all those eyes I would think they might notice them. In this species alone, there are many variations of the pattern and coloration of the abdomen and cephalothorax. I got the ID on Bugguide.net after looking at dozens and dozens of pictures and not being sure on my own.

      Like

  3. Nice shot. Did you augment with flash? Can’t tell. D

    Like

    • Thanks, Dave. No flash, just shadows opened in Photoshop to expose more details.

      Like

      • You mentioned, in an earlier post of yours, something about not being able to decide whether you were going to be purchasing a new computer, Lightroom, or a dedicated power supply for your computer. And here you mention Photoshop. I’m wondering why, if you are already a PS user, you’re thinking of picking up LR as well? I ask because I’ve been using LR for quite some time and have always wondered about PS … but am not sure I want or need that degree of power or those capacities. So … what’s up? D

        Like

      • As someone who hasn’t used LR yet, it is hard to make an accurate comparison. But my understanding is that there are many things that cannot be done in LR which are easily accomplished in PS. For instance, I often tweak my adjustments using channels which I don’t believe can be done in LR. I don’t think layers are useable in LR. Can you make selections for targeted adjustments? My main interest in LR is the archiving functions which are really not at all the same in Bridge (an image browser that comes with PS). I know that there is a lot of development functionality in LR which I am sure I would use, but my main interest is the library.
        It is my understanding that many people use LR solely and do just fine. Others use PS afterwards for the tweaks.

        Like

      • Hmm … that’s interesting. I have never (probably to my dismay, eventually) paid much attention to labeling, flagging, tagging, or archiving in any other way, my images. I totally ignore image metadata … which, as I say, will probably rise up and hit me right up side the head some day. But, yes, LR can do that sort of stuff. You are correct that LR doesn’t support layers … and because I’m not quite sure what channels are … I’m guessing LR doesn’t support those either. Targeted adjustments … huh? Yeah … so, OK … you’re going after LR for it’s Library function … got ya. Perhaps I will take the PS jump someday … but I am oh so tired of ascending that learning curve … I’m too old for YET another! D

        Like

      • And there we have it…the LR learning curve….just why it sits on my desktop unused. I would rather attribute it to laziness, but another piece of software to learn is a bit frustrating. So much else to do.
        I have a friend who has been a photographer for as long or longer than I. He never does keywords etc, just backs up his data and relies on his memory….so far so good.

        Like

  4. Lyle Krahn says:

    I detect beauty and attitude.

    Like

  5. Andrew says:

    I used to have a jumper like that when I was a kid. I don’t think mum and dad ever let me have a cephalothorax though. Lots of other dinosaurs but not one of them.

    Like

  6. Woo hoo, that’s a great spider picture.

    As you said, things glimpsed from a distance can seem to be something other than what they are. You’ve probably had it go both ways at various times, as I have: what looks like a spider or bug turns out to be a dry leaf, or vice versa. The fun comes when the thing turns out to be better than what you thought.

    Like

    • Thanks, Steve.
      When I used to do birding many, many moons ago, that was my bane….seeing a clump of leaves that resembled a bird and expressing my excitement at the new species I was about to glimpse when, alas….

      Like

  7. drawandshoot says:

    A wonderful spider photograph, Steve, what a beauty. I’d say he looks muscular!

    Like

  8. Cool! I don’t think I’ve ever seen one like that. …Now, about the one I found in my bathtub this morning…

    Like

  9. I somehow missed this post a few weeks back. All I can I can say is that the pic is good one. Spiders give me the heebie jeebies but of course I leave them be and go on my merry way but not when one gets in the house unless I can get it outdoors without damage to the spider.

    Like

Leave a Reply

