09.01.2014 Not quite, but almost

We went to a bon voyage party last night for some friends who are going on a 6 week walking pilgrimage in  Spain next week.  It was planned for their backyard and, sure enough, it poured.  But when I woke this am, I could see stars..not the kind I get now from standing up too quickly…and thought there was a chance for a sunrise shot.  The last two mornings started dismally and I hoped the third day would be the charm.  I think I gave away the mystery with the title.

This was the view today from the oft visited New Salem Overlook toward Rattlesnake Hill.  The eastern sky was pretty much blanketed in clouds and the only opening for the light was to the north so just a little color.  Peaceful, though.Dawn-over-North-Quabbin-090114-600Web

After that faded away, I figured why not visit another old favorite, Bears Den Falls, also in New Salem, even though I knew the water flow was low after a week of very little rain.  There is a legend that Chief Metacomet, aka King Philip, used Bears Den to plan attacks.

I’ve been here several times and this was the time with the least amount of dead wood lying about.  There is almost always a downed tree somewhere.  The Trustees of Reservations, who own this property, must have cleaned it up recently.Bears-Den-090114-600WebThis is actually a split falls, but right now the left side isn’t very attractive, so I composed for the right.  The hemlock tree is a bit awkward, but that is where it is.  If you would like to see it in a more tradition composition, click here.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Trustees of Reservations, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 09.01.2014 Not quite, but almost

  1. Both are nice shots. I like the one of the falls and especially the image showing it as a split falls. Nice indeed. I’m sorry your sunrise didn’t pan out. I too fell prey to New England bad weather this weekend. Joanna and I left for Vermont on Thursday afternoon. Spent all day Friday and Saturday doing any number of things to get our daughter established in her new home up there (near White River Junction). I had all my photo gear with me … and Joanna kept saying ‘Wait, wait, I know you want to stop to take photos but there’s too much to do. Tell you what, we’ll leave really early on Sunday and you can stop as many times as you’d like on the way home and to take as many photos as you’d like.’ And, guess what? I rained all the way home! I didn’t capture a single image, not a single one, Thursday through Monday (too much catching up to do once we got home so didn’t even get the gear out today). This is driving me totally nuts! How am I supposed to blog without images? Totally frustrating. D

    Like

    • I know your frustration, David. If you have an old image that hasn’t been posted there is always that. I use that strategy occasionally. The heaviest of the rain did go northeastward and I could see it passing us by….and heading towards you, apparently.
      Check out the image I linked to below in response to James Hunt for a really wild look at the waterfall by another photographer.

      Like

  2. Steve, a dear friend of mine, Lawrence G., made that pilgrimage last autumn — and he is 67! But he is stout and determined. Lawrence received his Camino Compostela in Latin. He pledges to go back and walk it again. Can you imagine the photo opportunities you’d encounter on such an experience?

    The fog gives Rattlesnake Hill the look of a creature.

    Like

    • It would be quite a photographic journey, Eb. But carrying a load of equipment, even reduced, for that journey would be taxing. My friends are in their early 60s but each has justone kidney. When both of Joanne’s failed, John was able to donate one of his, quite the act of love. So she also has a few meds to be taking to maintain certain levels of her body chemistry. I admire their will to undertake the journey.
      Your comment about a creature reminded of this, for some reason. Do you remember?

      I think I was around seven or so and terrified. Who knows…it could be a result of the melting polar ice.

      Like

      • It wasn’t the Beast from 20,000 Fathoms but Rodan who terrified me when I was seven or so. Both were creatures of atomic energy. I missed The Beast back then, though he looks very much like my good friend Godzilla. After watching that trailer you linked, I’ll be looking for The Beast sometime soon on Turner Classics.

        Like

      • I am guessing you won’t be quite as scared this time around, Eb……what with the stuff we get to see now, like Alien etc.
        When we optioned out of some of Comcast’s programming to modify our billing one of the things we lost was TCM. I was surprised that it was possible to tailor our subscription a bit, although still not ala carte.

        Like

    • Couldn’t live without TCM.

      Like

  3. Both pics are nice but I like the falls the most. Water is always good. Even though I like hazy pics the falling water gets my vote.

    Like

  4. I think the first picture is still effective due to the strip of color across the sky.

    For the second, I’m surprised you didn’t just move the hemlock tree out of the way till after you’d finished photographing.

    Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    That hemlock looks for all the world like a signpost. I can see a sign hanging from the horizontal branch, saying “Vacancy” or “Closed for The Season.” Maybe in season it just says, “Bear Den Falls.” Then again, maybe it would say, “Caution! Photographer Crossing.”

    In any event, I like it. Sometimes it’s the things that don’t “fit” that add the most interest.

    Like

    • How about “no rafting”, Linda? When I first got there I almost just turned and left. But the idea to get a different look came to me so I did this. I think it would have been nice with a bit more evidence of water flowing downstream, but there is always another day for that. Of all the elements that make up this image, the arching tree on the right edge was key to me.

      Like

  6. Great images, but that picture of the Bears Den looks downright scarey. There is so little water going down the falls. It’s been on the dry side for quite a long time it seems. That image really documents the situation powerfully in my view. Thanks for sharing.
    James

    Like

    • Thanks, James. The reason you don’t see the left side here is that very reason….no water. There was just the slightest of trickles. Since you are on FB, you should be able to follow this link. John Burk shot Bears Den around 8/13 right after a heavy rain. I have never seen it like this even in the midst of the spring melt.

      I wish I had visited there the following day when the water was a little more subdued but still running hard.

      Like

  7. Andrew says:

    Early starts are never wasted, Steve. I find my greatest tranquility at or around dawn. The skies are always offering something.

    Like

Leave a Reply

