08.30.2014 A Planthopper, a Moth and a Wasp walk into a bar…….

Just a little attention getter there.  These guys aren’t actually speaking to each other.

Here’s the Hopper…a Citrus Flatid Planthopper ( Metcalfa pruinosa ).Citrus-Flatid-Planthopper-083014-600WebThe Moth…a ZigZag Herpetogramma (Herpetogramma thestealis).  This is a rare flashed image.Zig-Zag-Herpetogramma-082514-600WebAnd, last but not least, the Wasp… a Double-banded Scoliid (Scolia bicincta).UI-082314-BG.NYou may recognize that the moth and wasp are on boneset.  Surprise!!! 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Insects, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 08.30.2014 A Planthopper, a Moth and a Wasp walk into a bar…….

  1. Jim in IA says:

    I like the wasp most. What a snappy dresser. The cumberbund sets of the look really well.

    Like

    • He is a looker, Jim. When I first came upon the wasp, its wings were drawn down along its abdomen and the rings did not show until I clipped my plamp onto the stem below and he decided to display, I guess as a warning.

      Like

      • Jim in IA says:

        I notice the warning or alert stance of wasps near our front door on the bushes. They are hunting for spiders and such among the twigs. They rarely go after me.

        Like

  2. The wasp is real stunner on the boneset. Excellent macros, Steve.

    Like

  3. I did recognize the boneset, and also your mindset in the title you chose for the post. Planthoppers are fun little creatures but small enough to make the photographer’s task difficult, but you clearly overcame that difficulty here.

    Like

  4. Andrew says:

    The flatulent hopper gets my vote. He looks a little frosty. Has he been in the fridge?

    Like

  5. There is something in the photograph of the moth that really makes it stand out for me – almost a sepia effect that really emphasizes the texture, both of the boneset and of the moth. What a stunning moth to come from such a pedestrian caterpillar!

    Like

    • I am sure that sepia effect comes from a combination of the flash and flashlight I used for focusing in the dark along with my white balance processing. It is a lovely moth and I was really happy to add it to my boneset menagerie. Thanks, Cynthia.

      Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    Great title! That blue-black wasp is pretty spiffy, and the little hopper is cute, but my favorite really is the moth on the boneset. I had to do a double take, because at first glance, the flower looked like frost on a window. I know you’re north, but I didn’t think you were that far north, and I was pretty sure frost and moths don’t go together — not for long, anyway.

    Like

    • I was pretty sure you would pick up on the title, Linda. Just some fun along with the images.
      Oh no! We are at least 6 weeks away from a serious frost….I hope. Who knows for sure any more? We have had a very cool summer with only a few days hitting the 90s. I think our autumn will be a bit early this year. But you are correct, moths don’t fare well in the frost, although some adults and larvae do load up on their antifreeze and go to sleep for the winter.

      Like

  7. The detail you captured is absolutely stunning. The detail on the insects legs is amazing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

