08.23.2014 Roadside Attractions

This morning was a bit of a disappointment as the sky was quite overcast.  But there is always something to be found and I’ve a couple to share.

I have seen very few caterpillars this year, so it was a happy find with this Yellow Bear which is the caterpillar for the Virginian Tiger Moth (Spilosoma virginica).Yellow-Bear-1-082314-600WebThe water lilies are still flowering, but my attention was grabbed by these colorful pads.  Such nice rich tones.Water-Lily-Pads-082314-600WebBetter weather is on the way for tomorrow morning.    🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Insects, Intimate Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to 08.23.2014 Roadside Attractions

  1. Just Rod says:

    I really like the water lily pads. Very nice tones and composition. Nice find with the Yellow Bear.

    Like

  2. Andrew says:

    The Lily pads are very fine. Superbly colour coordinated 🙂

    Like

  3. Jim in IA says:

    Have you heard that dark wooly bears bode cold winter? Light ones…mild.

    Like

    • Yep. The wider the light brown band, the milder the winter. Of course, there is the problem of finding multiple wooly bears with different width bands.
      This is not one of those though, Jim. The Wooly Bear is the larva of the Isabella Tiger Moth (Pyrrharctia isabella) and my image is of the Yellow Bear larva of the Virginian Tiger moth (Spilosoma virginica).

      Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s a nice woolly bear with all those clearly defined hairs. It’s good to see you making up a bit of your CD (caterpillar deficit).

    Like

  5. The colors in the second pic are so pretty. Really enjoy all the nature photos that you post.

    Like

  6. I really love the detail of the caterpillar that you captured…Great photo.

    Like

  7. shoreacres says:

    What a great shot of the Yellow Bear. I don’t think I ever will tire of the detail you photographers can capture.

    Around here, we consult the Wolly Bear to predict winter’s severity. The size of its orange stripe supposedly is key, although the scientists in the linked piece clearly aren’t buying into that sort of foolishness. I’m sure they don’t predict rain by the size of fire ant mounds, either, or the number of days until rain by the stars inside the moon’s halo. Ah, well.

    Like

    • Ah, modern science….show me the proof. 🙂 As I mentioned to Jim above, the problem with the predictions is the variability of the caterpillars. And how about that poor Groundhog? Of course he will see his shadow….stupid television lights.
      I find wooly bears in my wood pile all winter. It’s amazing that they don’t just desiccate and die, but they are alive and try to find another shelter after I disturb them. I do feel a bit guilty. As your linked article mentions, they do produce their own anti-freeze like many other overwintering creatures which lowers the freezing point to around -8 degrees C or 17 degrees F. I don’t think your woolies need worry about freezing, but our temperature can easily drop below zero F so there must be a serious mortality rate in the winter.

      Like

  8. I like the shot of the caterpillar especially. You have a knack for great focus. Don’t tell anyone, but I’m beginning to doubt my Nikon optics. You’ve been on a real role these last few days with really nice shots of the arthropods … keep ’em coming. Nice weather finally arrived here in north-central PA … finally! But, my academic year begins tomorrow … sigh. D

    Like

    • I don’t doubt the quality of Nikon optics, but I guess it depends on what you are using and how. If you are counting on the viewfinder for sharp focus of small objects then you are at a disadvantage.
      Bummer about the convergence of school and nice weather.

      Like

      • Argh! Yes … I’ve been relying on my viewfinder. Who knew I shouldn’t be … isn’t that what’s it’s for! So, you’re saying that I should be using Live View? But how do you see anything in your LCD in the middle of the day … with all that glare?

        Like

      • There are a few options. Hoodman makes a little doohickey that you can hold over the LCD. But I just make believe that I am shooting with a view camera and throw a piece of black cloth over my head and the back of the camera. And since it is over my head I am able to eliminate most of the peripheral distractions.
        I am saying that I use the LiveView to accomplish what I am after. There are also angle viewers with a magnification factor that slide over the viewfinder, but they don’t allow for movement around the frame, as far as I am aware. And in the past, photographers did well without it. It’s just a great new tool that makes things much easier.

        Like

  9. Lottie Nevin says:

    I love hairy caterpillars – such comical little things. The lily pads are stunning, what heavenly colours. Hope the sun shines down for you tomorrow 🙂

    Like

    • I wasn’t even thinking of such a shot with the lily pads, Lottie. Just looking for frogs when I happened across these.
      Oh, it is sunny now, but just bleakly foggy early on. Very warm days and very cool nights now.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. LaVagabonde says:

    Gorgeous shots. The good thing about cloudy day walks is that they bring out the color of things.

    Like

  11. Caterpillars and water lilies~ what could be better? I love both of these. Like you, I’ve been drawn to leaves turning color this late summer. …my photos of them are not as compelling! lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

